REPORTS: England to launch bid to host Rugby World Cup

11. Drop-goal

South Africa’s five drop-goals in the 44-21 quarter-final victory over England in 1999 remains the World Cup record, Jannie de Beer responsible for all five.

12. Double hat-trick 

Marc Ellis boasts the most tries in one World Cup match, with six in New Zealand’s 145-17 triumph over Japan in 1995.

13. Shock

2007 is the only World Cup, where All Blacks failed to reach at least into a Semi-Final

14. Is there a Women’s Rugby World Cup?

Yes, the Women’s Rugby World Cup is held every four years. The next tournament is scheduled for 2021 but the host has yet to be decided.

15. Winners

New Zealand (1987, 2011, 2015) has won the Rugby World Cup three times. Australia (1991, 1999) and South Africa (1995, 2007) and have each won twice.


%d bloggers like this: