Sale 15-9 Wasps: Danny Cipriani's impeccable kicking display edges Sharks to narrow win over Wasps - Ruck

Sale 15-9 Wasps: Danny Cipriani’s impeccable kicking display edges Sharks to narrow win over Wasps

  • Danny Cipriani’s 15-point haul guides Sale to 15-9 win against Wasps
  • A Jimmy Gopperth penalty and Elliot Daly drop-goal gave Wasps a 6-3 lead at the break
  • Wasps have now suffered three consecutive defeats
Danny Cipriani’s immaculate kicking from the tee edged Sale to a narrow 15-9 victory against Wasps in a tryless Aviva Premiership encounter on Saturday.

Wasps had lost on all four previous visits to AJ Bell Stadium while their only victory on Sale soil since March 2005 was by a single point in 49 at Edgeley Park in Aviva Premiership Rugby in October 2010

In a first half that lacked much action in horrendous conditions, Danny Cipriani knocked over a penalty before Jimmy Gopperth’s kick from the tee and Elliot Daly’s drop-goal gave this visitors a narrow three-point advantage at the break.

Cipriani levelled things up for Sale after the restart from the tee before putting the hosts ahead with his third three-pointer of the contest.

Gopperth then brought Wasps back on level terms before Cipriani stepped up again from the tee to restore Sharks three-point lead.

A drop goal from the Man of the Match late on then proved to be the knockout blow, 15-9.

Sale: Danny Cipriani

Sale: 15 Mike Haley, 14 Tom Arscott, 13 Sam James, 12 Sam Tuitupou, 11 Will Addison, 10 Danny Cipriani, 9 Chris Cusiter, 8 Josh Beaumont, 7 David Seymour, 6 Dan Braid (c), 5 Jonathan Mills, 4 Bryn Evans, 3 Vadim Cobilas, 2 Tommy Taylor, 1 Ross Harrison.
Replacements: 16 Cameron Neild, 17 Eifion Lewis-Roberts, 18 Brian Mujati, 19 Andrei Ostrikov, 20 Mark Easter, 21 Peter Stringer, 22 Joe Ford, 23 Mark Jennings.

Wasps: 15 Rob Miller, 14 Frank Halai, 13 Elliot Daly, 12 Ben Jacobs, 11 Charles Piutau, 10 Jimmy Gopperth, 9 Joe Simpson, 8 Sam Jones, 7 George Smith, 6 James Haskell (c), 5 James Gaskell, 4 Joe Launchbury, 3 Lorenzo Cittadini, 2 Ashley Johnson, 1 Matt Mullan.
Replacements: 16 Edd Shervington, 17 Simon McIntyre, 18 Phil Swainston, 19 Kearnan Myall, 20 Thomas Young, 21 Dan Robson, 22 Ruaridh Jackson, 23 Sailosi Tagicakibau.

Date: Saturday, January 2
Venue: AJ Bell Stadium
Kick-off: 17:30 GMT
Referee: Luke Pearce
Assistant Referees: Peter Allan, Greg Macdonald
TMO: Trevor Fisher

%d bloggers like this: