TEAM NEWS: England name side to face Argentina - Ruck

TEAM NEWS: England name side to face Argentina

Eddie Jones has named his side to face Argentina in England’s opening game of the Old Mutual Wealth Series (KO 3pm, Sky Sports).

Seven players – Mike Brown (Harlequins), George Ford (Leicester Tigers), Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints), Nathan Hughes (Wasps), Chris Robshaw (Harlequins), Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs) and Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby) – who started in England’s last Test against Argentina in June retain their place this weekend.

Elliot Daly (Wasps) will start on the left wing after Jonny May (Leicester Tigers) did not recover in time from his hamstring injury.

Daly is joined by Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers), Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints), Mako Vunipola (Saracens) and Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby) who all last played for England during the successful 2017 RBS 6 Nations campaign.

Eddie Jones said: “As a squad we have been preparing for this game since our first camp in August and are excited about playing in front of 82,000 fans at Twickenham Stadium on Saturday.”

“This is our best 23 selected in what is our most important game this year. We know that Argentina is a strong team – Rugby World Cup semi finalists in 2015 – and we will have to be smart and play well to beat them.”

Test your knowledge on England v Argentina with our quiz – here

England team to play Argentina

15 Mike Brown (Harlequins 62 caps), 14 Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby 26 caps), 13 Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby 33 caps), 12 Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs 7 caps), 11 Elliot Daly (Wasps 13 caps), 10 George Ford (Leicester Tigers 37 caps), 9 Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers 70 caps), 1 Mako Vunipola (Saracens 42 caps), 2 Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints 86 caps) captain, 3 Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers 74 caps), 4 Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints 58 caps), 5 George Kruis (Saracens 20 caps), 6 Chris Robshaw (Harlequins 56 caps), 7 Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby 1 cap), 8 Nathan Hughes (Wasps 10 caps).

Finishers: 16 Jamie George (Saracens 17 caps), 17 Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers 3 caps), 18 Harry Williams (Exeter Chiefs 2 caps), 19 Joe Launchbury (Wasps 44 caps), 20 Tom Curry (Sale Sharks 1 cap), 21 Danny Care (Harlequins 73 caps), 22 Alex Lozowski (Saracens 2 caps), 23 Semesa Rokoduguni (Bath Rugby 2 caps).

%d bloggers like this: