15 English player named in Team GB training squad for Tokyo Olympics

GB 7s Women’s head coach Scott Forrest has announced an extended squad to compete for a place at Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games.

15 England Women Sevens players have been included in the squad including Abbie Brown, Heather Fisher and Amy Wilson Hardy who all played at the 2016 Rio Olympics where Great Britain finished fourth.

The extended squad is comprised of the top players from across the UK, with Forrest explaining that: “It’s very exciting to name this initial training squad. It has a lot of potential with some world class athletes selected.” 

The 24 strong squad will be narrowed down to a final 13 just prior to the Olympic Games in July.


Holly Aitchison (England)
Keira Bevan (Wales)
Abbie Brown (England)
Abi Burton (England)
Heather Fisher (England)
Deborah Fleming (England)
Megan Gaffney (Scotland)
Sydney Gregson (England)
Hannah Jones (Wales)
Meg Jones (England)
Jasmine Joyze (Wales)
Ellie Kildunne (England)
Rhona Lloyd (Scotland)
Alex Matthews (England)
Helen Nelson (Scotland)
Jodie Ounsley (England)
Celia Quansah (England)
Chloe Rollie (Scotland)
Helena Rowland (England)
Hannah Smith (Scotland)
Lisa Thomson (Scotland)
Emma Uren (England)
Beth Wilcock (England)
Amy Wilson Hardy (England)

%d bloggers like this: