“2027 confirmed” – Hosts for the next five Rugby World Cup’s have already been locked in - Ruck

“2027 confirmed” – Hosts for the next five Rugby World Cup’s have already been locked in

World Rugby have confirmed the locations for the next three women’s and two men’s Rugby World Cups as it accelerates global development and growth.

At its Annual Meeting in Dublin, the World Rugby Council unanimously approved the staging of Rugby World Cup in the following countries, delivering a golden decade for the sport:

  • England to host Rugby World Cup 2025 (women’s)
  • Australia to host Rugby World Cup 2027 (men’s) and 2029 (women’s)
  • USA to host Rugby World Cup 2031 (men’s) and 2033 (women’s)

World Rugby Chief Executive Alan Gilpin added: “As a sport and an international federation, it is imperative that we continually seek new ways to ensure that the sport converts clear potential into impactful outcomes, and today’s decision reflects that commitment.

“A partnership approach will enable us to develop robust strategic objectives that are great for the host nation and great for rugby and build efficiencies of delivery and resourcing, helping to reduce hosting costs from the outset, while maximising fan engagement, revenue and delivery opportunities. All of which will lead to even greater direct investment back into the game at all levels.

“We look forward to continuing our engagement with the host partners to deliver the stage for the world’s best players to perform and a festival to excite and engage fans from around the world, growing the rugby movement together in a responsible and sustainable way.”

“Leader of men” – Springbok skipper Siya Kolisi named best rugby captain of all-time

The best rugby captains should have the following qualities:

  • A great player
  • Inspire confidence in their team
  • Takes responsibility 
  • Lead by example
  • Great sportsmanship 
  • Tactical knowhow 
  • Excellent communicator 
  • Emotional discipline 

Greatest Ever Rugby Captains: Top 20

20. Phillipe Saint-Andre (France) – A dynamic winger turned coach, Saint-Andre’s speed and flair graced French rugby. His coaching prowess took him from player to national team leader, shaping the future of French rugby.

19. Lawrence Dallaglio (England) – A fearless back-row giant, Dallaglio captained England to Rugby World Cup glory in 2003. His powerful runs and tireless work ethic defined English rugby.

18. Sergio Parisse (Italy) – Italy’s rugby icon, Parisse’s leadership and skill at number 8 made him a legend. His dedication elevated Italian rugby on the world stage.

17. John Dawes (Wales) – A Welsh rugby hero, Dawes captained the British and Irish Lions to a historic series win against New Zealand in 1971, showcasing his tactical brilliance.

16. Will Carling (England) – Carling’s charisma and leadership made him an iconic England captain. His center partnership with Jeremy Guscott was legendary.


%d bloggers like this: