All Blacks vs Springboks: Line-Ups, Kick Off Time, and How To Watch the Twickenham Clash - Ruck

All Blacks vs Springboks: Line-Ups, Kick Off Time, and How To Watch the Twickenham Clash

The most hotly anticipated match of the 2023 Summer Nations Series kicks off tomorrow evening, as New Zealand and South Africa collide at Twickenham Stadium. ‘HQ’ is almost at sell-out capacity for this clash of the titans, with each side ready to make a statement as they both line up a record fourth Rugby World Cup title.

As the two most successful nations in the history of the Rugby World Cup, the stakes don’t get any higher for what on paper is a warm-up ‘friendly’ match. However, this battle between the Southern Hemisphere rivals is far from friendly, which was exemplified best by Springboks lock Eben Etzebeth in this week’s pre-match media.

“We are playing in the Springbok jersey at one of the top stadiums in the world against a team with which we share one of the greatest rivalries, so this is not a warm-up match for us, it is a Test match,” said Etzebeth to the Springboks website.

Eben Etzebeth of South Africa during the Autumn Nations Match between England and South Africa at Twickenham Stadium on 20 November 2021. Photo: Tom Sandberg/PPAUK

“We’ll give everything this week and we’ll worry about the World Cup after the game. If things go well for us, it could also give us confidence going into the World Cup, so this is a massive game for us.”

The action at Twickenham Stadium kicks off tomorrow evening at 7:30pm, with fans in the UK being able to watch the match on Sky Sports Mix. The programme begins just five minutes before kick-off, so be sure to have all the supplies ready before you tune in to see the All Blacks’ famous haka!

For those ‘Boks fans watching on from South Africa, the action begins at 8:20pm SA time. The match is being shown on Supersport Grandstand in South Africa, whilst fans in New Zealand will have to get up earlier for kick off. All Blacks fans can tune in for the match at 6:30am, Saturday 26th (New Zealand time), with the match shown on Sky NZ and Foxtel Now.5.


All Blacks Head Coach Ian Foster has named a trio of changes, from the New Zealand side that recorded a 35-20 victory over the Springboks in the 2023 Rugby Championship. All the amendments come in the pack, with Foster selecting an identical back-line to start at Twickenham. Veteran hooker Dane Coles replaces Codie Taylor in the front row, with Sam Whitelock coming in at lock for Brodie Retallick.

Whitelock has surpassed Richie McCaw to become the most capped All Black off all time, with this fixture against South Africa marking his 146th test match. In the back row, Luke Jacobsen comes in to replace Shannon Frizzell on the blindside flank, where he partners up with his captain Sam Cane.

New Zealand Starting XV: 15. Beauden Barrett 14. Will Jordan 13. Rieko Ioane 12. Jordie Barrett 11. Mark Telea 10. Richie Mo’unga 9. Aaron Smith 8. Ardie Savea 7. Sam Cane (captain) 6. Luke Jacobson 5. Scott Barrett 4. Sam Whitelock 3. Tyrel Lomax 2. Dane Coles 1. Ethan de Groot

Replacements: 16. Samisoni Taukei’aho 17. Tamaiti Williams 18. Fletcher Newell 19. Josh Lord 20. Tupou Vaa’i 21. Dalton Papali’i 22. Cam Roigard 23. Anton Lienert-Brown

Andre Esterhuizen returns to the Springboks fold, following the untimely injury to Lukhanyo Am. Also, South Africa’s go-to fly half Handre Pollard remains on the side-lines, despite travelling with the squad to the Northern Hemisphere. Manie Libbok slots in at the number 10 jersey, in Pollard’s continued absence.

Jacques Nienaber has retained five forwards from the 52-16 landslide win over Wales, in Steven Kitshoff, Frans Malherbe, Malcolm Marx, Siya Kolisi and Pieter-Steph du Toit. Eben Etzebeth, Franco Mostert and Duane Vermeulen have also been added to a stacked Springboks starting XV.

South Africa Starting XV: 15. Damian Willemse 14. Kurt-Lee Arendse 13. Canan Moodie 12. Andre Esterhuizen 11. Makazole Mapimpi 10. Manie Libbok 9. Faf de Klerk 8. Duane Vermeulen 7. Pieter-Steph du Toit 6. Siya Kolisi (captain) 5. Franco Mostert 4. Eben Etzebeth 3. Frans Malherbe 2. Malcolm Marx 1. Steven Kitshoff

Replacements: 16. Bongi Mbonambi 17. Ox Nche 18. Trevor Nyakane 19. Jean Kleyn 20. RG Snyman 21. Marco van Staden 22. Cobus Reinach 23. Willie le Roux