Andy Farrell's Lions coaching staff will include a number of touring legends - Ruck

Andy Farrell’s Lions coaching staff will include a number of touring legends

Adam Jones, the ex-Wales prop, has thrown his hat into the ring to become the scrum coach for Andy Farrell’s British and Irish Lions squad on their upcoming tour of Australia.

Join our Breaking News and Top Stories WhatsApp community for all the latest news direct to your phone.

With experience from his Lions tours in 2009 and 2013, Jones, now 43, has been instrumental in guiding Harlequins to the Champions Cup semifinals, marked by their thrilling 42-41 victory over Bordeaux Bègles.

Adding to the coaching mix, Scotland’s head honcho, Gregor Townsend, has also emerged as a contender for a position during the Australian tour.

Jones told the Times’ Ruck Podcast. “If Faz wanted to take me, I’d bite his hand off. 100 per cent, I think I could do a job as a scrum coach for the Lions. 

“It’s a funny one with the Lions, as a scrum coach, you’re not going to change a lot of technique as these are the best props from the home unions. There’s not a lot you can do around that. But if that job ever came up, I’d bite their hand off. I’ve been twice as a player.

“I don’t think there’s many ex-Lions players coaching teams at the scrum anyway. Is Ieuan Evans chairman this year? I’ll give Ieuan a ring and see if he can sort me out!”

Joining Jones in potential roles are other Lions luminaries like Paul O’Connell, currently collaborating with Farrell at Ireland, and former England fly-half Jonny Wilkinson, who could take up the mantle of specialist kicking coach.


Andy Farrell faces numerous challenging decisions leading up to finalising his Lions squad, yet bookmakers appear confident in predicting the players destined for Australia next summer.

We found it intriguing to project a smaller squad based on the favoured contenders according to bookmakers’ odds as of April19, 2024.


  • Duhan van der Merwe (Scotland) – 1/16
  • James Lowe (Ireland) – 1/8
  • Hugo Keenan (Ireland) – 1/5
  • Tommy Freeman (England) – 4/9
  • Immanuel Feyi-Waboso (England) – 8/11
  • Mack Hansen (Ireland) – 2/1


  • Bundee Aki (Ireland) – 1/5
  • Ollie Lawrence (England) – 1/4
  • Sione Tuipulotu (Scotland) – 2/7
  • Robbie Henshaw (Ireland) – 8/11


  • George Ford (England) – 1/10
  • Marcus Smith (England) – 8/15
  • Finn Russell (Scotland) – 8/11