Argentina 21-33 Australia: Wallabies see off Pumas at Twickenham

Argentina 21-33 Australia: Wallabies see off Pumas at Twickenham

  • The Wallabies overcame Argentina 33-21 in the final match of The Rugby Championship 2016
  • Tries from Adam Coleman and Samu Kerevi gave Australia an 18-8 lead at the break
  • Kerevi added his second after the restart before Deann Mumm dived over to secure the Aussie’s win
Speedster Samu Kerevi led the charge for Australia, scoring two tries as the men in gold overcame a spirited Argentina in the final match of the Rugby Championship 2016 at Twickenham. The win means the Wallabies finish the Championship in second while the Pumas end with the wooden spoon.

Earlier, New Zealand had thumped South Africa 57-15 in Durban in a masterclass of international rugby union – but under the bright lights of Twickenham, in front of a crowd of 48,515, the Wallabies and Pumas proved that the All Blacks aren’t the only Southern Hemisphere side that can play fast, attractive free-flowing rugby.

Australia, despite being a man down for 20 minutes of the first half, were able to take a healthy 18-8 lead into the break. Tries from Adam Coleman and Kerevi combined with the boot of ‘ice-cool’ Bernard Foley completed the Aussie’s first-half haul.

Despite yellow cards to the Wallabies Michael Hooper and Coleman for high tackles, the Pumas only had a Matias Alemanno try and a single Santiago González Iglesias penalty to show for their mass efforts in what had been a frantic, end-to-end opening 40.

The Pumas pulled to within three points after the break with a converted try by Jerónimo De la Fuente but then Kerevi scored his second to give Australia a comfortable lead once again.

Two penalties from Argentina cut the deficit to four points but Foley added a third penalty to put Australia 7 points ahead again before Dean Mumm crashed over for an unconverted score late on to secure the win 33-21 win.


Australia: Samu Kerevi


Argentina: 15 Joaquín Tuculet, 14 Matías Moroni, 13 Matías Orlando, 12 Jerónimo De la Fuente, 11 Ramiro Moyano, 10 Santiago González Iglesias, 9 Martín Landajo, 8 Leonardo Senatore, 7 Javier Ortega Desio, 6 Pablo Matera, 5 Matías Alemanno, 4 Guido Petti, 3 Ramiro Herrera, 2 Agustín Creevy, 1 Lucas Noguera
Replacements: 16 Julian Montoya, 17 Santiago García Botta, 18 Enrique Pieretto, 19 Marcos Kremer, 20 Juan Manuel Leguizamon, 21 Tomás Cubelli, 22 Gabriel Ascarate, 23 Lucas González Amorosino

Australia: 15 Israel Folau, 14 Dane Haylett-Petty, 13 Samu Kerevi, 12 Bernard Foley, 11 Reece Hodge, 10 Quade Cooper, 9 Will Genia, 8 Lopeti Timani, 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Dean Mumm, 5 Adam Coleman, 4 Rory Arnold, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Stephen Moore (c), 1 Scott Sio
Replacements: 16 James Hanson, 17 Tom Robertson, 18 Allan Alaalatoa, 19 Kane Douglas, 20 Scott Fardy, 21 Leroy Houston, 22 Nick Phipps, 23 Tevita Kuridrani


Download IOS   Download Android

%d bloggers like this: