Aviva Premiership Final: Wasps 20-23 Exeter Chiefs

Aviva Premiership Final: Wasps 20-23 Exeter Chiefs

  • Exeter held firm to edge past Wasps in extra time
  • Tries from Jack Nowell and Phil Dollman give Chiefs a 14-10 half-time lead
  • Steenson then slotted the winning kick with three extra-time minutes of extra time left
Gareth Steenson’s penalty in extra time secured a historic win for Exeter Chiefs against Wasps in the Premiership final at Twickenham.

Exeter had controlled the first half and led at the break thanks to scores from Jack Nowell and Phil Dollman, with Wasps striking right at the end of the first half through Premiership player of the year Jimmy Gopperth to stay in touch at 14-10.

Elliot Daly’s early score changed the outlook of the contest entirely, stemming from the work of the sensational Nathan Hughes.

With the score at 20-17 Exeter unleashed everything they had on the Wasps’ defence, eventually settling for a penalty with Steenson levelling the scores with 30 seconds to go.

And so in the sunshine in front of a crowd of just under 80,000, with both sides out on their feet, Steenson stepped up and delivered a penalty in the 97th minute to send the Chiefs supporters back to Devon in a state of delirium after an outstanding final.

Full report to follow.

Wasps: 15 Willie Le Roux, 14 Christian Wade, 13 Elliot Daly, 12 Jimmy Gopperth, 11 Josh Bassett, 10 Danny Cipriani, 9 Dan Robson, 8 Nathan Hughes, 7 Thomas Young, 6 James Haskell, 5 Matt Symons, 4 Joe Launchbury (c), 3 Phil Swainston, 2 Tommy Taylor, 1 Matt Mullan
Replacements: 16 Ashley Johnson, 17 Simon McIntyre, 18 Marty Moore, 19 Kearnan Myall, 20 Guy Thompson, 21 Joe Simpson, 22 Alapati Leiua, 23 Frank Halai
Exeter Chiefs: 15 Phil Dollman, 14 Jack Nowell, 13 Ian Whitten, 12 Ollie Devoto, 11 Olly Woodburn, 10 Gareth Steenson (c), 9 Stuart Townsend, 8 Thomas Waldrom, 7 Don Armand, 6 Kai Horstmann, 5 Geoff Parling, 4 Dave Dennis, 3 Harry Williams, 2 Luke Cowan-Dickie, 1 Ben Moon
Replacements: 16 Jack Yeandle, 17 Carl Rimmer, 18 Tomas Francis, 19 Mitch Lees, 20 Sam Simmonds, 21 Will Chudley, 22 Henry Slade, 23 Michele Campagnaro
Date: Saturday, May 27
Venue: Twickenham
Kick-off: 15:00 local (14:00 GMT)
Referee: JP Doyle
Assistant Referees: Matthew Carley, Luke Pearce
TMO: Rowan Kitt