Bristol Bears confirm the signing of Kyle Sinckler replacement, he's massive - Ruck

Bristol Bears confirm the signing of Kyle Sinckler replacement, he’s massive

Powerhouse prop Lovejoy Chawatama will join Bristol Bears as Pat Lam continues to build an exciting and balanced squad for the 2024/25 season.

The experienced tighthead, who joined Harlequins from London Irish in 2023 following their suspension from the Gallagher Premiership, made more than 50 appearances for the Exiles.

English qualified Chawatama has previously represented England Students and returns to the West Country having studied at University West of England.

Director of Rugby, Pat Lam, said: “Lovejoy was one of the most consistent performers in the Premiership during his time with London Irish and his style of play and skills are well aligned to the way we want to play at the Bears.

“As we continue to build our young and exciting squad, it’s key to have established and experienced Premiership players in specialist positions.

“Lovejoy has shown his quality and durability at the tighthead position and he will be a valuable asset for the continued development of our exciting young Bristolian tighthead props George Kloska and Jimmy Halliwell.

Chawatama said: “I’m thrilled to be joining Bristol Bears for the 2024/25 season – it’s a fantastic club with rich history, passionate fans, and ambition.

“It feels like a full-circle moment for me, having spent four years at UWE Bristol as a student and amateur rugby player.

“It’s a place I have fond memories of. I’m excited to bring my family here and make more memories on and off the pitch.”

Greatest Ever Rugby Player: Top 20

20. Sergio Parisse (Italy)

19. Johnny Sexton (Ireland)

Andy Farrell, Head Coach of Ireland and Johnny Sexton, Captain of Ireland pose with the Guinness Six Nations trophy during the 2023 Guinness Six Nations Media Launch at County Hall, Lambeth, London on Monday 23rd January 2023 | Photo: James Fearn/PPAUK.

18. Jason Leonard (England)

17. Zinzan Brooke (New Zealand)

16. Sonny Bill Williams (New Zealand)