"New Captain" - Red Roses Team To Play Scotland - 2024 Women's Six Nations - Ruck

“New Captain” – Red Roses Team To Play Scotland – 2024 Women’s Six Nations

Red Roses head coach John Mitchell has named his team to play Scotland, in the third round of the 2024 Women’s Six Nations. England are looking to continue their successful start to the competition, and build upon their victories over Italy and Wales in their upcoming trip to Edinburgh this Saturday.

It was announced yesterday that history will be made in the Scottish capital, as for the first time ever Hive Stadium has been sold out. Over 7,700 fans will pack the home of Edinburgh Rugby to the rafters, for this hotly anticipated battle with England.

Helena Rowland of England Red Roses during the international friendly match between England Red Roses and Canada women at Sandy Park, Exeter on 23rd Sept 2023. Photo: Izzy Ninnis/PPAUK

Mitchell has had to deal with three injuries within his squad, as hooker Lark Atkin-Davies continues on with her concussion return to play protocol. Helena Rowland also misses out, with the versatile back side-lined for the rest of the Six Nations, after having surgery on her finger.

A third injury altercation was announced this morning, as Poppy Cleall’s spot amongst the replacements was curtailed. The Saracen misses out due to a laceration on her knee, with Exeter Chiefs newcomer Maddie Feaunati back on the bench. Also, England captain Marlie Packer has been dropped to the substitutes bench, with rotation once again at the forefront of John Mitchell’s mind.


15. Ellie Kildunne (Harlequins, 40 caps)

14. Abby Dow (Trailfinders Women, 42 caps)

13. Megan Jones (Leicester Tigers, 18 caps)

12. Tatyana Heard (Gloucester-Hartpury, 19 caps)

11. Jess Breach (Saracens, 35 caps)

10. Holly Aitchison (Bristol Bears, 27 caps)

9. Natasha Hunt (Gloucester-Hartpury, 69 caps)

1. Hannah Botterman (Bristol Bears, 44 caps)

2. Amy Cokayne (Leicester Tigers, 72 caps)

3. Maud Muir (Gloucester-Hartpury, 27 caps)

4. Rosie Galligan (Saracens, 15 caps)

5. Abbie Ward (Bristol Bears, 63 caps)

6. Zoe Aldcroft (Gloucester-Hartpury, 50 caps) – captain

7. Sadia Kabeya (Loughborough Lightning, 15 caps)

8. Alex Matthews (Gloucester-Hartpury, 63 caps)


16. Connie Powell (Harlequins, 16 caps)

17. Mackenzie Carson (Gloucester-Hartpury, 12 caps)

18. Kelsey Clifford (Saracens, 5 caps)

19. Maddie Feaunati (Exeter Chiefs, 2 caps)

20. Marlie Packer (Saracens, 101 caps)

21. Lucy Packer (Harlequins, 18 caps)

22. Zoe Harrison (Saracens, 48 caps)

23. Sydney Gregson (Saracens, 4 caps)