Chris Robshaw ruled out after failing late fitness test

Chris Robshaw ruled out after failing late fitness test

  • Harlequins make two changes for their Big Game against Gloucester at Twickenham
  • Tuesday’s game takes place at Twickenham with over 70,000 spectators set to attend the fixture
  • Quins make a single change while the Cherry & Whites make five
Harlequins have been forced to make a change ahead of their Premiership clash with Gloucester after Chris Robshaw was ruled out.

The England international failed a late fitness test so Luke Wallace now starts at openside flanker, with George Naoupu called onto the bench.

Joe Marler, who makes his 100th Premiership appearance, is named in a forward pack of Harlequins Academy graduates.

Meanwhile, Gloucester make five changes to their starting line-up.

Returning having missed out on the Challenge Cup defeat in La Rochelle last weekend are Billy Twelvetrees, Greig Laidlaw, Paddy McAllister, Mariano Galarza and Ross Moriarty. Josh Hohneck moves from loosehead to tighthead prop while Laidlaw, who leaves for Clermont this summer, resumes the captaincy.

Amongst the replacements, having made his comeback from injury in Monday’s ‘A’ League game against Bath United, centre Andrew Symons is named in a first team matchday squad for the first time, a timely return given Mark Atkinson suffered a significant hamstring injury in France and will be ruled out for a number of weeks.

It’s the second year in a row that Gloucester have featured in Harlequins’ big occasion, last season’s equivalent resulting in a thrilling 39-39 draw.


Harlequins (revised): 15 Mike Brown, 14 Marland Yarde, 13 Joe Marchant, 12 Jamie Roberts, 11 Tim Visser, 10 Ruaridh Jackson, 9 Danny Care (c), 8 Jack Clifford, 7 Luke Wallace, 6 James Chisholm, 5 Charlie Matthews, 4 George Merrick, 3 Kyle Sinckler, 2 Rob Buchanan, 1 Joe Marler
Replacements: 16 Dave Ward, 17 Owen Evans, 18 Will Collier, 19 Stan South, 20 George Naoupu, 21 Karl Dickson, 22 Tim Swiel, 23 Alofa Alofa
Gloucester: 15 James Hook, 14 Charlie Sharples, 13 Matt Scott, 12 Billy Twelvetrees, 11 Jonny May, 10 Billy Burns, 9 Greig Laidlaw (c), 8 Ben Morgan, 7 Jacob Rowan, 6 Ross Moriarty, 5 Mariano Galarza, 4 Tom Savage, 3 Josh Hohneck, 2 Richard Hibbard, 1 Paddy McAllister
Replacements: 16 Motu Matu’u, 17 Yann Thomas, 18 Salesi Ma’afu, 19 Jeremy Thrush, 20 Matt Kvesic, 21 Willi Heinz, 22 Andrew Symons, 23 Henry Purdy
Date: Tuesday, December 27
Venue: Twickenham
Kick-off: 16:00 GMT
Referee: JP Doyle
Assistant Referees: Simon McConnell, Greg Macdonald
TMO: Stuart Terheege
%d bloggers like this: