Depleted Scotland upset the odds to record famous victory in Australia - Ruck

Depleted Scotland upset the odds to record famous victory in Australia

Scotland held out in a breathless, dramatic climax to a brilliant game to overcome Australia 24-19 in Sydney for the first time in their history. 

Having surrendered their lead after the break, Gregor Townsend’s men recaptured the lead once more when flanker Hamish Watson finished off a spectacular try.

The victory against a full-strength Wallabies is even more impressive, considering they were without star man Stuart Hogg, captain Greig Laidlaw and Richie Gray among others.

Scotland scored the first 10 points of Saturday’s game, before Israel Folau latched onto a Bernard Foley’s looping pass to score in the 19th minute.

A try from the visitor’s fly-half Finn Russell appeared to have handed the Scots a 17-7 lead, but the Foley-Folau combo came to the fore on the stroke of half-time.

The Wallabies stayed in touch thanks to a high-flying Folau special on the end of a Foley cross-field kick and he leaped into the air to claim the ball to dot down.

Despite crossing again in the second half, with the conversion of Will Genia’s 56th-minute try giving the hosts a 19-17 lead, Scotland hit back five minutes later through Watson and it proved to be the decisive try.


Australia: 15 Israel Folau, 14 Dane Haylett-Petty, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Karmichael Hunt, 11 Eto Nabuli, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Will Genia, 8 Scott Higginbotham, 7 Michael Hooper (c), 6 Ned Hanigan, 5 Adam Coleman, 4 Sam Carter, 3 Allan Alaalatoa, 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1 Tom Robertson
Replacements: tbc
Scotland: 15 Greig Tonks, 14 Lee Jones, 13 Alex Dunbar, 12 Duncan Taylor, 11 Rory Hughes, 10 Finn Russell, 9 Ali Price, 8 Ryan Wilson, 7 Hamish Watson, 6 John Barclay (c), 5 Jonny Gray, 4 Ben Toolis, 3 Zander Fagerson, 2 Fraser Brown, 1 Gordon Reid
Replacements: 16 Ross Ford, 17 Allan Dell, 18 Willem Nel, 19 Tim Swinson, 20 Josh Strauss, 21 Henry Pyrgos, 22 Ruaridh Jackson, 23 Matt Scott
Date: Saturday, June 17
Venue: Allianz Stadium, Sydney
Kick-off: 15:00 local (05:00 GMT)
Referee: Wayne Barnes (England)
Assistant Referees: Matthew Carley (England), Brendon Pickerill (New Zealand)