Elliot Daly and Owen Farrell among the five nominees for the RPA player of the year award - Ruck

Elliot Daly and Owen Farrell among the five nominees for the RPA player of the year award

  • Elliot Daly and Owen Farrell are among the five nominee
  • Daly is one of three players from title hopefuls Wasps on the list
  • French back-rower Louis Picamoles has also made the list
Quotes from the RPA Players’ Player of the Year 2017 nominees:

Elliot Daly said: “I’m hugely humbled to be nominated for an award which recognises the outstanding talent we have in English rugby. The quality of players in the Premiership is extremely high so to be chosen alongside so many outstanding players is a surreal feeling.”

Owen Farrell said: “It’s very pleasing to be nominated for such a prestigious and well respected award. The Premiership is such a competitive league, so to be nominated as one of the five best players is an incredible feeling and one which I’m very proud of. As always, a big thanks to my peers for the kind recognition.”

Jimmy Gopperth said: “To be nominated for such a huge prize by the guys you play with is the ultimate reward. I feel very humbled and blown away by their support. I must thank my Wasps teammates for the awesome work we have all put in this season. I’m sure I will look back on this at the end of my career and be very proud.”

Louis Picamoles said: “It’s a very special honour to be nominated for this award, especially as it’s my first season in the Premiership. I have really enjoyed my year so far playing for Northampton and I look forward to many more great games ahead.”

Christian Wade said: “It’s an absolute privilege to be nominated for this very special award. I have had loads of injuries over the last few years but I feel I am getting my confidence back and playing some great rugby. It’s an honour to be nominated by my peers and hopefully I can continue my form heading into the final matches.”

For a full list of all our nominees for the RPA Players’ Awards 2017 in association with England Rugby please click here.
The winners will be announced on Wednesday 10 May 2017, at Battersea Evolution in London. To book your place please contact Martin Olima on 020 3053 6670 or molima@theRPA.co.uk