England among 12 teams to automatically qualify for 2027 Rugby World Cup - Ruck

England among 12 teams to automatically qualify for 2027 Rugby World Cup

The twelve automatic qualifiers for the 2027 Rugby World Cup remain the same as those from the previous tournament. In other words, the three teams that secured first, second, and third place in the 2019 event in Japan have repeated their success in France in 2023.

From Group A, France, New Zealand, and Italy have secured their spots in the 2027 Rugby World Cup.

In Pool B, the qualified teams are Ireland, South Africa, and Scotland. Pool C’s representatives are Wales, Fiji, and Australia, while Pool D has England, Argentina, and Japan as its qualified teams.

Rugby World Cup 2027 is on the verge of expanding from twenty to twenty-four teams. This expansion will result in the creation of two additional pools, meaning teams will compete in six pools of four. For the first time in Rugby World Cup history, a round-of-16 stage will be introduced.

The expansion is expected to benefit the Americas, as more slots are likely to be allocated to this region. In the qualifiers for the 2023 tournament in France, neither the champions of North America nor South America managed to secure qualification. Instead, subsequent regional qualifiers took place. It’s worth noting that this model was not universally applied, as Namibia qualified as Africa 1 by facing African opposition exclusively.


England’s route to the Rugby World Cup final will be very tough

Let’s venture into the realm of imagination and explore the potential trajectory that awaits Borthwick’s formidable team.

Quarter-final: England v Fiji

After a historic defeat to the Pacific Islanders last month, England is poised to seek redemption in the quarter-finals. Steve Borthwick’s squad aims to erase the memory of their lackluster performance, and with their recent form, they stand a strong chance of advancing to the semi-finals.


The 2023 Rugby World Cup Quarter-Final between England and Fiji will be played at 4pm on Sunday, October 15th.


In the United Kingdom the England v Fiji game will be broadcast on ITV1 with pre-game coverage beginning at 3pm.

Television viewers in Ireland can tune into RTÉ 2 from 3.30pm to catch all the action.

Caleb Muntz of Fiji kicks the ball out of play and celebrates with team mates the win over England during the Summer International match between England and Fiji at Twickenham Stadium on August 26, 2023 in London, England. ( Photo by Phil Mingo/PPAUK )


England and Fiji have been battling in Test rugby since 1999. Since then they’ve faced off five times.

Their first meeting was at the 1999 Rugby World Cup where England won 45-24.

England won the next three fixtures before losing their game 22-30 against Fiji during the Rugby World Cup warm-up.

2023: Fiji won 22-30

2016: England won 58-15

2015: England won 35-11

2012: England won 54-12

1999: England won 45-24


Referee: Mathieu Raynal (France)

Assistant Referees: Nic Berry (Australia), Pierre Brousset (France)

TMO: Ben Whitehouse (Wales)


%d bloggers like this: