England team to play Chile: 2023 Rugby World Cup - Ruck

England team to play Chile: 2023 Rugby World Cup

Head coach Steve Borthwick has named his England team to play Chile in their third match of the 2023 Rugby World Cup.

This Autumn, Ruck’s England content will be powered by Charles Tyrwhitt, as they introduce an exclusive assortment of England Rugby apparel and accessories within the Tyrwhitt Supporter Collection. Not only do they back the team, but they also elevate your wardrobe.

Bevan Rodd and Theo Dan both start their first games of the tournament, joining tight head prop Kyle Sinckler in the front row. Locks David Ribbans and George Martin form a brand new second row pairing. Behind them, a back row combination of Jack Willis at openside flanker, Lewis Ludlam on the blindside and Billy Vunipola at No.8 rounds off the pack.

In the half-back berths, scrum-half Danny Care starts alongside captain Farrell at fly-half. In midfield, Ollie Lawrence is named at inside centre with Elliot Daly moving from left wing to 13. A new back three sees Henry Arundell on the right wing, Max Malins on the left, and Marcus Smith makes his first start in an England shirt at full back.

On the bench, vice-captain George Ford is joined by Jack Walker, Joe Marler, Will Stuart, Ollie Chessum, Ben Earl, Ben Youngs and Joe Marchant.

Borthwick said:

“One of the many great things about the Rugby World Cup is that the tournament provides an excellent opportunity to play against teams that we rarely have a chance to see. It is for that reason that we are particularly looking forward to testing ourselves against Chile on Saturday.

“Having watched our next opponent closely, we know that we will have to prepare and play well against a committed Chile team.  

“As we head to the next round, it is only right that I once again pay tribute to our excellent supporters who I know will be right behind us in Lille this weekend.”

England team to play Chile:

15. Marcus Smith (Harlequins, 26 caps)

14. Henry Arundell (Racing 92, 8 caps)

13. Elliot Daly (Saracens, 61 caps)

12. Ollie Lawrence (Bath Rugby, 16 caps)

11. Max Malins (Bristol Bears, 21 caps)  

10. Owen Farrell – captain (Saracens, 107 caps)

9. Danny Care (Harlequins, 91 caps)

1. Bevan Rodd (Sale Sharks, 3 caps)

2. Theo Dan (Saracens, 5 caps)

3. Kyle Sinckler (Bristol Bears, 64 caps)

4. David Ribbans (Toulon, 8 caps)

5. George Martin (Leicester Tigers, 5 caps)