Eterlast RPA Awards 2023: Who Took Home the Trophies from the Players Votes? - Ruck

Eterlast RPA Awards 2023: Who Took Home the Trophies from the Players Votes?

The Rugby Players Association awards night is a one of a kind ceremony, as all of the winners and nominees are voted into the polls, by the players themselves. Here is a full breakdown as to who took home a trophy, from the 2023 Eterlast RPA Awards.

All quotes from the RPA award winners are from the Official RPA Awards website.

The RPA Players’ Player of the Year

Winner: Jasper Wiese (Leicester Tigers)

“It’s very humbling to be named the winner of such a prestigious and special award. I’d like to thank the players from around the competition for voting for me, and I just want to thank my Leicester teammates for their support too.”

Jasper Wiese of Leicester Tigers celebrates with the Gallagher Premiership Rugby Trophy during the Gallagher Premiership Rugby Final Match between Leicester Tigers and Saracens at Twickenham Stadium on 18 June 2022. Photo: Tom Sandberg/PPAUK

The Young Player of the Year

Winner: Tom Pearson (Northampton Saints)

“I am honoured to win the year’s Young Player Award, especially getting voted by other players across the Premiership, it means a lot so thank you.”

Try celebrations for Tom Pearson of London Irish as he dives over to score during the Gallagher Premiership match between London Irish and Harlequins at The Gtech Community Stadium, London on 29 January 2023 (Photo: Danny Loo/PPAUK)

The England Women’s Player of the Year Award

Winner: Sadia Kabeya (Loughborough Lightning)

“A huge thank you to the girls who nominated me for this award, to be named amongst such talented teammates is a privilege in itself but to win is something I am beyond grateful for. it’s been a great year for the Red Roses and it hopefully it only continues!”

Player of the Match Sadia Kabeya of England Women celebrates with the Womens Six Nations Trophy during the TikTok Womens Six Nations Match between England Women and France Women at Twickenham, London on 29 April 2023 (Photo: Tom Sandberg/PPAUK)

The England Men’s Player of the Year in association with Advanta Wealth

Winner: Freddie Steward (Leicester Tigers)

“To hear I won this award for a second year is an incredible feeling. Thank you to all of my teammates who voted for me, I’ve been fortunate to be part of a team which is growing every day and I am very much looking forward to what the future holds with England.”

Freddie Steward of Leicester Tigers during the Gallagher Premiership Rugby Semi Final Match between Leicester Tigers and Northampton Saints at Mattioli Woods Welford Road on 11 June. Photo: Tom Sandberg/PPAUK

The Premier 15’s Player of the Year Award

Winner: Natasha Hunt (Gloucester Hartpury)

“I am truly honoured to receive this award. I feel very fortunate to be in a team stacked full of world class talent which makes my job easier. To everyone that voted, thank you so much, it means the world. I just love this sport and everyone involved in it.”

Natasha Hunt of England Women Rugby (Gloucester-Hartpury, 59 caps) spins the ball out during the England Women Rugby and USA WomenÕs Rugby at Sandy Park on 3 Sept 2022. Photo: Phil Mingo/PPAUK.

The Vodafone Business Gain Line Award

Winner: Beno Obano (Bath and England)

“I’m honoured to receive this award. You don’t really do these types of things to be rewarded for it, but I’m always grateful, so thank you!”

Gallagher Man of the Match, Beno Obano of Bath Rugby during the Gallagher Premiership Rugby Match between Bath Rugby and Exeter Chiefs at the Recreation Ground on 26 March 2023. Photo: Tom Sandberg/PPAUK

The RPA Special Merit Award


Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers)

“Thank you to the RPA Players’ Board for their nomination. For me to achieve 100 appearances for my country, means a lot of support from home, so I’d just like to thank my friends and family for allowing me to do this. I’m so proud to play for my country, and I’ve had some great teammates and coaches along the way, so thank you to all of them too.”

Leicester Tigers player Dan Cole during the Gallagher Premiership Rugby Match between Leicester Tigers and London Irish on the first midweek round of matches as part of the Return to Rugby campaign as rugby continues after COVID 19 lockdown at Welford Road on 26 Aug. Photo: Steve Bond/PPAUK/Gallagher

Owen Farrell (Saracens)

“Thank you to my teammates and family for their support. I love playing for my country, it is a hugely exciting time for England, I can’t wait to be a part of this team, heading into the World Cup, so thank you for this recognition.”

Owen Farrell of Saracens during the Gallagher Premiership Rugby match between Saracens and London Irish at the StoneX Stadium, Hendon, London on Sunday 23rd April 2023 | Photo: James Fearn/PPAUK.

Emily Scarratt (Loughborough Lightning)

“To play 100 times for my country is amazing, and to make it in my home town meant so much to me. Thank you for this award, and I can’t wait to play for the Red Roses in the next few years to come.”

Emily Scarratt, Vice Captain of England Women on the break during the TikTok Womens Six Nations match between England Women and Wales Women at Kingsholm Stadium on April 9 2022 in Gloucester, England. (Photo by Tom Sandberg/PPAUK)

The RPA Blyth Spirit Award

Winners: Abi Burton and Ed Slater

Abi Burton:

“This award means so much to me, it not only represents my journey back to full health and rugby, but the journey that my friends and family had to go through while I was fighting for my life, this is not just for me but for them. This is one of the proudest recognitions I’ve received in my five years of professional rugby.”

Abi Burton of Wasps Women evades the tackle from Lagi Tuima of Harlequins Women during the Allianz Premier 15s Match between Harlequins Women and Wasps Women at Twickenham Stadium on 27 December 2021. Photo: Tom Sandberg/PPAUK

Ed Slater:

“Thank you to the RPA for this Award, it is very humbling for me and my family. I’m really grateful for the support shown to me by the rugby community, following my diagnosis and will continue to raise awareness and fundraise to help all those suffering from MND.”

Ed Slater of Gloucester Rugby wins the line out during the Gallagher Premiership Rugby match between Gloucester Rugby and Sale Sharks at Kingsholm Stadium on January 2, 2020 in Gloucester, England. (Photo by Tom Sandberg/PPAUK/Gallagher)

The RPA Hall of Fame

Winner: Sarah Hunter & Doddie Weir

Sarah Hunter: “It is an absolute privilege to be inducted into the RPA’s Hall of Fame, and it means even more to be inducted alongside the legend that is Doddie Weir, so thank you to the board for their nomination.”

The Champagne Bollinger RPA Moment of the Season

Winner: Chris Ashton scoring his 100th Premiership try

“Thank you to all of the fans for voting for me to win this award, it means an awful lot. I’ve always wanted to score tries since I first picked up a rugby ball, so to score 100 Premiership tries is something special, so thank you to my family, coaches and teammates who have allowed this to happen.”

Leicester Tigers player Chris Ashton, Gallagher Player Of The Match, after the Gallagher Premiership rugby game between Leicester Tigers and Exeter Chiefs at Mattioli Woods Welford Road on April 16th- PHOTO: Steve Bond/PPAUK

The RPA 15 Under 23 Team of the Season