Exeter Chiefs Duo Henry Slade & Manny Feyi-Waboso Win 2024 Premiership Rugby Awards - Ruck

Exeter Chiefs Duo Henry Slade & Manny Feyi-Waboso Win 2024 Premiership Rugby Awards

Premiership Rugby have revealed the winners from the Premiership Rugby Awards for 2023/24, presented by Gallagher, following a night of celebration in London. The Exeter Chiefs duo of Henry Slade and Immanuel Feyi-Waboso picked up respective awards, in what was a significant night of celebration for the Devon club.

Try Celebrations for Henry Slade of Exeter Chiefs during the Gallagher Premiership Rugby Match between Bath Rugby and Exeter Chiefs at the Recreation Ground on 2 December 2023. Photo: Tom Sandberg/PPAUK

England centre Slade was crowned the Gallagher Player of the Season after a standout campaign, whilst his club teammate Immanuel Feyi-Waboso was named the Breakthrough Player of the Season. Northampton Saints’ Phil Dowson was awarded the Director of Rugby of the Season, presented after leading his side to a top of the table finish.

Andy Christie of Saracens was named the Community Player of the Season, presented by Funding Circle, as he was recognised for his work as an ambassador of the Sporting Roots project. Northampton Saints winger Ollie Sleightholme took home the Premiership Rugby Top Try Scorer award with 14 tries in a stellar season for the league leaders.

Ollie Sleightholme of Northampton Saints during the Gallagher Premiership Match between Exeter Chiefs and Northampton Saints at Sandy Park on 25 September 2021. Photo: Tom Sandberg/PPAUK

Adding to his trophy cabinet, Gallagher Player of the Season Henry Slade picked up his second award of the night as the Premiership Rugby Top Points Scorer. Finally, referee Wayne Barnes was given a Special Recognition Award after retiring this season on the back of officiating the Rugby World Cup 2023 Final in addition to a record 272 Premiership Rugby matches and 111 Tests.

Simon Massie-Taylor, CEO of Premiership Rugby, said in an official statement:

“The 2023/24 Gallagher Premiership Rugby season has produced some incredible moments of drama and many of those protagonists went on to receive awards for their part.

“Henry Slade has had a memorable season from start to finish, after missing out on the Rugby World Cup in France. He led a young, new-look Exeter Chiefs side to within touching distance of the play-offs.

Try Celebrations for Henry Slade of Exeter Chiefs as he goes over for a try to seal the Win during the Investec Champions Cup match between Exeter Chiefs and Munster at Sandy Park, Exeter on 17th Dec 2023. Photo: Tom Sandberg/PPAUK

“Henry is a world-class player and this season has also won a number of games with a clutch kick in the last play – so is a worthy winner of the Gallagher Player of the Season.

“Immanuel Feyi-Waboso’s season is a breakthrough in every sense of the word.

“From University and National League Rugby to become one of the Gallagher Premiership and England’s shining stars in the space of a season is an incredible achievement. I can’t wait to follow his career at Exeter Chiefs.

Immanuel Feyi-Waboso of Exeter Chiefs during the Gallagher Premiership match between Exeter Chiefs and Gloucester Rugby at Sandy Park, Exeter on 19th Nov 2023. Photo: Tom Sandberg/PPAUK

“Then taking Northampton Saints from the play-off positions to top of the league makes Phil Dowson the obvious choice for Director of Rugby of the Season.

“On top of that, he has improved a young batch of English talent to become stars of Premiership Rugby and then England regulars, which is testament to the outstanding job Phil is doing in Northampton.

“Premiership Rugby Try of the Season must have been a tough task for the panel with a host of stunning tries to choose from. Saying that, the image of Tyrone Green’s ‘Superman’ dive will stay in the memory of Premiership fans for years to come and was one of the defining images of the season.

Tyrone Green of Harlequins is presented with the Player of the Match award during the Gallagher Premiership Rugby match between Harlequins and Bath at Twickenham Stoop, London on 30 March 2024. Photo: James Whitehead/PPAUK

“A try my kids will never forget, having been there that day at Harlequins – an exhibition of extreme skill like that remind us of the talent we have in the Gallagher Premiership.

“I was very impressed by some of the terrific work being done in the community, too. Andy Christie’s efforts with the Sporting Roots project stood out amongst an impressive shortlist.

“We shouldn’t forget our Top Points scorer and Top Try Scorer. As well as Gallagher Player of the Season Henry Slade is the Top Points scorer with five tries added to 127 points from the tee.

“Saints’ Ollie Sleightholme was five clear of the competition in the try scorer stakes with 14. Surely on the radar of England, the winger was another star of the Gallagher Premiership Rugby season.

“Last but not least, Wayne Barnes, who we awarded a Special Recognition Award for a fine career Premiership Rugby – a true legend in our game amongst a stellar line-up of superb players and coaches.”

The judges for the Premiership Rugby Awards 2023/24: Ali Eykyn (TNT Sports), Ugo Monye (BBC, TNT Sports), Jill Douglas (ITV, BBC), Ashleigh Wilmot (Eurosport, TNT Sports), Rugby Inside Line, Alex Lowe (The Times), Hugh Godwin (i), Nick Mullins (TNT Sports), and Chris Jones (BBC).