France 15-24 Argentina: Two late tries hand Pumas win against France in tournament opener - Ruck

France 15-24 Argentina: Two late tries hand Pumas win against France in tournament opener

  • Argentina overcame France 24-15 as they got their U20 Championship off to a dream start
  • Antoine Dupont’s try combined with a penalty from Antoine Dupont gave Les Bleus a narrow 8-6 lead at the break
  • Late tries from Lautaro Bazán and Bautista Stávile saw the Pumas come back to win
Argentina kicked off the U20 World Championship with a hard-fought 24-15 victory over France at the AJ Bell Stadium in Salford on Tuesday.

Trailing 6-8 at half-time thanks to a try from scrum-half Antoine Dupont and a Anthony Belleau penalty, France held the slight upper hand.

Argentina’s response came via two Domingo Miotti penalties and that was how things stayed until the 51st minute in a tight opening clash.

But then a penalty try pushed France 6-15 up before Martín Elías cut the gap to three points with two penalties with 16 minutes remaining.

The Pumas though kicked on in the closing stages with converted tries from Lautaro Bazán and Bautista Stávile sealing their come-from-behind win.

France: 15 Romain Buros, 14 Martin Laveau, 13 Eliott Roudil, 12 Atila Septar, 11 Gabriel Ngandebe, 10 Anthony Belleau, 9 Antoine Dupont, 8 Anthony Jelonch, 7 Judicaël Cancoriet, 6 Matthieu Voisin, 5 Mathieu Tanguy, 4 Florian Verhaeghe, 3 Michaël Simutoga, 2 Etienne Fourcade, 1 Clément Castets (c)
Replacements: 16 Péato Mauvaka, 17 Quentin Walcker, 18 Emerick Setiano, 19 Théo Hannoyer, 20 Alexandre Roumat, 21 Baptiste Couilloud, 22 Romuald Seguy, 23 OlivierKlemenczak

Argentina: 15 Bautistia Delguy, 14 Tomás Malanos, 13 Juan Cruz Mallía, 12 Teo Castiglioni, 11 Julián Dominguez, 10 Domingo Miotti, 9 Patricio Baronio, 8 Vicente Boronat, 7 Mariano Romanini, 6 Benito Paolucci (c), 5 Ignacio Calas, 4 Marcos Kremer, 3 Santiago Medrano, 2 Gasper Baldunciel, 1 Jean Pablo Enriquez
Raplcements: 16 Román Pretz, 17 Santiago Pulella, 18 Rubén Ricco, 19 Franco Molina, 20 Bautista Stávile, 21 Lautaro Bazán, 22.Martín Elías, 23 Nicolás Osadczuk