Gareth Davies term as WRU chairman ends after losing Council seat - Ruck

Gareth Davies term as WRU chairman ends after losing Council seat

Ieuan Evans MBE has been elected as a National Council Member of the Welsh Rugby Union by member clubs, winning a three-way vote against incumbent Gareth Davies and Nigel Davies.

Davies was standing to be a National Council member for a third term, having initially been elected chairman in October 2014.

Evans’ tenure will begin after the close of the next Annual General Meeting in October, a gathering which will now also be the last act as WRU chairman for Davies – who leaves after serving two terms on the Council and Board concurrently, amounting to six years at the helm of Welsh rugby.

“It’s a huge honour to be chosen by member clubs to represent them on the WRU National Council and I will be doing everything I can to reward the faith they have shown in me,” said the former Carmarthen Quins, Llanelli, Bath, Wales and British & Irish Lions wing Evans, who has forged a distinguished ambassadorial and media career since his retirement from playing.

“The community game is essential to the general health and welfare of our national sport and it is on these foundations that we should build our future.

“Whilst we must constantly challenge, evaluate and review I would also like to thank Gareth for his dedication during his tenure on the council and his service to Welsh rugby over many years.”