"Hassell-Collins, Pearson" - England name exciting squad to face Portugal - Ruck

“Hassell-Collins, Pearson” – England name exciting squad to face Portugal

Presenting the dynamic lineup of the England A team, featuring 27 skilled athletes ready to take on Portugal.

This formidable group showcases a balanced blend of experienced veterans and promising newcomers. While five players have already proven themselves at the senior level, others are embarking on the exciting journey of representing England.

Included among the seasoned veterans are Jamie Blamire, Nick Isiewke, Tom Pearson, Harry Randall, and Ollie Hassell-Collins. Notably, 21 out of the 27 players have progressed through the prestigious England Rugby pathway, earning recognition with caps at either the U18 or U20 levels within the men’s system.

This exceptional squad was meticulously assembled by England Senior Men’s Head Coach Steve Borthwick, working closely with England A Head Coach George Skivington, and drawing on the expertise of Dom Waldouck, Sam Vesty, and RFU Director of Rugby Performance Conor O’Shea.


“We’re delighted to see the return of A Team rugby as such an important part of our rugby’s development and to announce the squad for the forthcoming fixture against Portugal.

“We have got a lot of talented and exciting young players in England, and this is a great opportunity for them to show they can play international rugby. We have selected players in this initial squad who we believe have the potential to be in the England team in the very near future.

“One of the very important aspects of this A Team is to provide a platform for players who have come out of the Under 20s and who are playing club rugby, allowing them to experience the international environment.



Fin Baxter (Harlequins)

Jamie Blamire (Newcastle Falcons, 7 caps)

Tarek Haffar (Northampton Saints)

Sam Riley (Harlequins)

Seb Blake (Gloucester)

Josh Iosefa Scott (Exeter Chiefs)

James Harper (Sale Sharks)

Nick Isiekwe (Saracens, 11 caps)

Arthur Clark (Gloucester)

Ben Bamber (Sale Sharks)

Rusiate Tuima (Exeter Chiefs)

Tom Pearson (Northampton Saints, 1 cap)

Guy Pepper (Newcastle Falcons)

Alfie Barbeary (Bath)

Greg Fisilau (Exeter Chiefs)

Jack Clement (Gloucester)


Caolan Englefield (Gloucester)

Harry Randall (Bristol Bears, 2 caps)

Charlie Atkinson (Gloucester)

Jamie Shillcock (Leicester Tigers)

Oliver Sleightholme (Northampton Saints)

Oliver Hartley (Saracens)

Rekeiti Ma’asi-White (Sale Sharks)

Cadan Murley (Harlequins)

Ollie Hassell-Collins (Leicester Tigers, 2 caps)

Josh Hodge (Exeter Chiefs)

Sam Harris (Bath)

The squad will assemble at Loughborough University next Tuesday (20 February) to begin preparations for the fixture later that week. The group will also be joined by some of the players that aren’t selected by Steve Borthwick for England senior men’s fixture against Scotland in the Guinness Six Nations (24 February).