Ireland 21-45 England: England have won the U20 World Championship

  • England have won the U20 World Championship for the third time in their history and tops off a brilliant day for England rugby
  • Beaten by New Zealand in 2015’s final, England added to wins in 2013 and 2014
  • Harry Mallinder contributed 23 points for the home side via two tries and the tee
England secured their third World Rugby Under-20 title in four years with a commanding 45-21 win over Ireland.

Northampton Saints back Harry Mallinder contributed 23 points for the home side via two tries while adding five conversions and a penalty from the tee.

Martin Haag’s side scored three converted tries through Joe Marchant, Callum Chick and Huw Taylor with Mallinder converting all three in a fine first-half as the players headed into the break with England enjoying a 21-0 lead.

Ireland came back into the game with converted tries from Adam McBurney and Shane Daly but Mallinder crossed twice himself, also kicking two conversions and a penalty.

A second try from Marchant though, which Mallinder converted, added further gloss to England’s victory despite Ireland’s late consolation through Max Deegan.

Victory at the AJ Bell Stadium has completed an emphatic turnaround by England’s youngsters, who picked up just one victory in the 2016 Six Nations at the start of the year.

Head coach Martin Haag joined from Nottingham in March after that tournament and he was won all five games in charge in Manchester.



England: 15 Max Malins, 14 Sam Aspland-Robinson, 13 Joe Marchant, 12 Johnny Williams, 11 Matt Gallagher, 10 Harry Mallinder (c), 9 Max Green, 8 Callum Chick, 7 Will Evans, 6 George Nott, 5 Huw Taylor, 4 Stan South, 3 Billy Walker, 2 Jack Singleton, 1 Lewis Boyce
Replacements: 16 Charlie Piper, 17 Tom West, 18 Will Stuart, 19  Andrew Kitchener, 20 Jack Willis, 21 Harry Randall, 22 Max Wright, 23 Ollie Thorley

Ireland: Ireland: 15 Jacob Stockdale, 14 Matthew Byrne, 13 Shane Daly, 12 Conor O’Brien, 11 Hugo Keenan, 10 Johnny McPhillips, 9 Stephen Kerins, 8 Max Deegan, 7 David Aspil, 6 Greg Jones, 5 James Ryan, 4 Sean O’Connor, 3 Ben Betts, 2 Adam McBurney, 1 Andrew Porter
Replacements: 16 Vincent O’Brien, 17 James Bollard, 18 Adam Coyle, 19 Evan Mintern, 20 Kelvin Brown, 21 Niall Saunders, 22 Brett Connon, 23 Jimmy O’Brien

Date: Saturday, June 25
Venue: AJ Bell Stadium, Salford
Kick-off: 19.00 BST (18.00 GMT)
Referee: Paul Williams (New Zealand)
Assistant Referees: Cwengile Jadezweni (South Africa), Thomas Charabas (France)
TMO: John Mason (Wales)


%d bloggers like this: