Ireland player ratings vs South Africa: 2023 Rugby World Cup - Ruck

Ireland player ratings vs South Africa: 2023 Rugby World Cup

Check out the Ireland player ratings vs South Africa after Andy Farrell’s men edged to a historic World Cup victory against the Springboks.

Ireland cemented their status as the number one-ranked side in world rugby as they edged an enthralling tussle with defending champions South Africa at the Stade de France.

Manie Libbok’s early penalty put South Africa ahead as Ireland’s lineout malfunctioned, losing four of their own throws, but Bundee Aki’s sensational break sparked them into life.

After camping in the Springboks’ 22, the pressure told as James Lowe released Mack Hansen to dive over, Johnny Sexton’s conversion giving the Irish a 7-3 interval lead.

South Africa hit back on the resumption when Libbok’s long pass put Cheslin Kolbe over for a try, only for Sexton’s penalty to edge Ireland back in front, Libbok and Faf de Klerk both missing further shots at goal before Jack Crowley’s late penalty sealed a momentous victory.

Scroll down for the Ireland player ratings vs South Africa.


South Africa – 8

  • TRIES: Cheslin Kolbe (51′)
  • PENS: Manie Libbok (6′)

Ireland – 13

  • TRIES: Mack Hansen (33′)
  • CONV: Johnny Sexton (35′)
  • PENS: Johnny Sexton (59′), Jack Crowley (77′)


Metres: Bundee Aki – 66

Defenders beaten: Hugo Keenan – 5

Tackles: Caelan Doris – 15

Missed tackles: Jamison Gibson-Park – 4

Turnovers won: Josh van der Flier – 2

via World Rugby

Ireland player ratings vs South Africa:

1 Andrew Porter – 8

2 Ronan Kelleher – 7

3 Tadhg Furlong – 8

4 Tadhg Beirne – 8

5 James Ryan – 8

6 Peter O’Mahony – 8

7 Josh van der Flier – 9

8 Caelan Doris – 9

9 Jamison Gibson-Park – 8

10 Johnny Sexton (c) -8

11 James Lowe – 8

12 Bundee Aki – 9

13 Garry Ringrose – 8

14 Mack Hansen – 9

15 Hugo Keenan – 9

Tier One nations ranked by number of foreign-born players:

Scotland (15)

WP Nel (South Africa), Pierre Schoeman (South Africa), Javan Sebastian (England), Ewan Ashman (Canada), Sam Skinner (England), Jack Dempsey (Australia), Hamish Watson (England), Ali Price (England), Ben White (England), Ben Healy (Ireland), Chris Harris (England), Cameron Redpath (France), Sione Tuipulotu (Australia), Kyle Steyn (South Africa), Duhan van der Merwe (South Africa).

Italy (11)

Ivan Nemer (Argentina), Hame Faiva (New Zealand), Dino Lamb (England), David Sisi (Germany), Toa Halafihi (New Zealand), Sebastian Negri (Zimbabwe), Martin Page-Relo (France), Juan Ignacio Brex (Argentina), Ange Capuozzo (France), Monty Ioane (Australia), Paolo Odogwu (England),

Wales (10)

Taulupe Faletau (Tonga), Tomas Francis (England), Dan Lydiate (England), Will Rowlands (England), Henry Thomas (England), Christ Tshiunza (Democratic Republic of the Congo), Gareth Anscombe (New Zealand), George North (England), Nick Tompkins (England), Johnny Williams (England),