Ireland team to play South Africa: 2023 Rugby World Cup - Ruck

Ireland team to play South Africa: 2023 Rugby World Cup

Andy Farrell has unveiled his Ireland team to play South Africa for the upcoming Rugby World Cup Pool B clash against the Springboks at the Stade de France in Paris this Saturday.

This pivotal match will also mark Bundee Aki’s 50th Test cap milestone.

Ireland, following their victories over Romania and Tonga, are continuing their Pool B campaign against the reigning champions in Paris under the lights this Saturday evening.

Bundee Aki, who made his Ireland debut against the Springboks back in November 2017, will once again partner with Garry Ringrose in the midfield for the third consecutive match.

In the back three, Hugo Keenan, Mack Hansen, and James Lowe retain their positions, while the captain, Jonathan Sexton, and Jamison Gibson-Park have been named at flyhalf and scrumhalf, respectively.

Coach Farrell has opted for an unchanged forward pack from their previous triumph over Tonga in Nantes. Andrew Porter, Ronan Kelleher, and Tadhg Furlong form the formidable front row, with Tadhg Beirne and James Ryan anchoring the second row. The starting XV is completed by Peter O’Mahony, Josh van der Flier, and Caelan Doris.

On the bench, Dan Sheehan returns to fitness and takes his place among the replacements, joining forward options David Kilcoyne, Finlay Bealham, Iain Henderson, and Ryan Baird. Conor Murray, Jack Crowley, and Robbie Henshaw are poised to provide valuable support to the backline.

Ireland team to play South Africa:

15. Hugo Keenan (33 Test caps)
14. Mack Hansen (18)
13. Garry Ringrose (54)
12. Bundee Aki (49)
11. James Lowe (23)
10. Johnny Sexton (captain, 115)
9. Jamison Gibson-Park (27)
8. Caelan Doris (33)
7. Josh van der Flier (54)
6. Peter O’Mahony (98)
5. James Ryan (57)
4. Tadhg Beirne (43)
3. Tadhg Furlong (69)
2. Ronan Kelleher (23)
1. Andrew Porter (56)
16. Dan Sheehan (18)
17. David Kilcoyne (53)
18. Finlay Bealham (33)
19. Iain Henderson (76)
20. Ryan Baird (14)
21. Conor Murray (109)
22. Jack Crowley (7)
23. Robbie Henshaw (66)