Home > Rugby News > Ireland’s Robbie Henshaw ruled out of final Test


Ireland’s Robbie Henshaw ruled out of final Test

  • Ireland centre Robbie Henshaw looks set to miss the deciding third Test against South Africa
  • The centre injured his knee cartilage in the second match against the Springboks on Saturday
  • Ireland secured their first ever win over the Springboks in South Africa on June 11
Ireland centre Robbie Henshaw reportedly will not be available for the third Test against South Africa after injuring his knee in the second match against the Springboks.

Ireland coach Joe Schmidt said he was unlikely to bring in a replacement as he has options within the squad to deal with the loss of the 23-year-old.

“There are guys on standby so we can go back to them,” Schmidt said. “To be honest, if we can cover it internally we probably will at this stage.



“It’s pretty difficult to get them up to speed and to get them down here is a bit of a mission even.”

Henshaw, who will need surgery, picked up the cartilage injury in the closing stages of the Test at Ellis Park on Saturday, when South Africa went from 16 points down to beat Ireland 32-26 to level the three-match series 1-1.

Ireland secured their first-ever win over the Springboks in South Africa on June 11 with a 26-20 victory at Newlands.