Leicester v Exeter preview: Team news, kick-off time, line-ups and stats for the Aviva Premiership clash

  • Leicester host Exeter in the Aviva Premiership on Sunday: 15:00 kick-off
  • Tigers trio Logovi’i Mulipola, Vereniki Goneva and Peter Betham all return to the starting XV
  • The Chiefs rest Thomas Waldrom, with fellow ex-Tiger Julian Salvi coming in.
Phil Dollman will make his 100th Aviva Premiership appearance for Exeter as they travel to Welford Road to take on Leicester on Sunday.

Exeter’s backline coach Ali Hepher praised the contribution of Welsh full-back Dollman, who has been a part of the Chiefs setup since joining the club from the Dragons in 2008.

Hepher told Sky Sports: “I think it’s testament to Phil that he’s achieved such a feat. He’s a very under-rated player.

“He holds our backline together well, feeds in info all the time and he’s one of the smartest we have in the squad. He also gives us plenty in attack and on the ball, and over the years he’s been very consistent.”

Exeter rest Thomas Waldrom, with fellow ex-Tiger Julian Salvi coming in.

An entirely new-look front row sees Moray Low, Tomas Francis and skipper Jack Yeandle return, while Matt Jess makes a rare start on the wing.

Dollman takes his place in the back three alongside James Short and Matt Jess, with Jess coming into the side for Olly Woodburn as part of five changes made this week by head coach Rob Baxter.

Leicester Tigers trio Logovi’i Mulipola, Vereniki Goneva and Peter Betham all return to the starting XV.

Betham partners Manu Tuilagi at centre, Goneva plays on the wing, and Mulipola joins Marcos Ayerza and Harry Thacker in the front row.

  • Leicester Tigers three game losing run in Premiership Rugby ended with their 47- 20 victory at home to London Irish
  • The Tigers only defeat at Welford Road in the tournament since September 2014 came when Sale were the visitors in Round 1
  • Exeter Chiefs have won their last two games, at London Irish and at home to Bath, and are the second best away team in Premiership Rugby after Saracens, picking up 22 league points on the road this season
  • The Chiefs won 19-6 when the two clubs met at Sandy Park in November – the only previous occasion that the Chiefs have achieved a Premiership Rugby season double over Leicester was in 2011/12

Leicester: Manu Tuilagi

Exeter: James Short

Leicester: 15 Mathew Tait, 14 Adam Thompstone, 13 Peter Betham, 12 Manu Tuilagi, 11 Vereniki, Goneva, 10 Freddie Burns, 9 Jono Kitto, 8 Ed Slater (c), 7 Lachlan McCaffrey, 6 Tom Croft, 5 Dom Barrow, 4 Mike Fitzgerald, 3 Logovi’i Mulipola, 2 Harry Thacker, 1 Marcos Ayerza
Replacements: 16 Leonardo Ghiraldini, 17 Riccardo Brugnara, 18 Fraser Balmain, 19 Graham Kitchener, 20 Mike Williams, 21 Sam Harrison, 22 Owen Williams, 23 Telusa Veainu

Exeter: 15 Phil Dollman, 14 Matt Jess, 13 Ian Whitten, 12 Sam Hill, 11 James Short, 10 Gareth Steenson, 9 Dave Lewis, 8 Don Armand, 7 Julian Salvi, 6 Dave Ewers, 5 Geoff Parling, 4 Ollie Atkins, 3 Tomas Francis, 2 Jack Yeandle (c), 1 Moray Low
Replacements: 16 Elvis Taione, 17 Alec Hepburn, 18 Harry Williams, 19 Lewis Stevenson, 20 Kai Horstmann, 21 Will Chudley, 22 Will Hooley, 23 Max Bodilly

Date: Sunday, March 6
Venue: Welford Road
Kick-off: 15:00 GMT
Referee: Matthew Carley
Assistant Referees: Andrew Jackson, Paul Dix
TMO: Graham Hughes


%d bloggers like this: