London Irish 20-13 Worcester: Exiles off the bottom after beating Worcester - Ruck

London Irish 20-13 Worcester: Exiles off the bottom after beating Worcester

  • London Irish defeated fellow strugglers Worcester 20-13 at the Madejski Stadium
  • The victory is only Irish’s third league win of the season
  • Dean Ryan’s side have now lost 12 successive games in all competitions
London Irish overcame Worcester at the Madejski Stadium on Sunday to boost their Premiership survival hopes.

The highlight of what was a free-flowing opening 40 was a spectacular solo effort from Ciaran Hearn who chipped the ball up in the air before catching it and crossing under the posts for a magnificent try.

The second half was more open with a try from Andrew Fenby for Irish bookended by tries for Worcester by Bryce Heem and Val Rapava Ruskin.

Discipline was also a problem for both sides in the second half as Donnacha O’Callaghan and David Paice were both shown yellow cards for their misdemeanors.

During the latter’s period on the side-line the Warriors threatened to nick victory from the Exiles but the hosts held out to lift themselves from the base of the Premiership.

The defeat sees Worcester, who have now lost 12 back-to-back games in all competitions, in a precarious position; one point above Irish and Newcastle Falcons, who fall to the bottom of the table.

London Irish: Ciaran Hearn

London Irish: 15 Andrew Fenby, 14 Topsy Ojo, 13 Ciaran Hearn, 12 Fergus Mulchrone, 11 Aseli Tikoirotuma, 10 Shane Geraghty, 9 Brendan McKibbin, 8 Rob McCusker, 7 Luke Narraway, 6 Jebb Sinclair, 5 Will Lloyd, 4 Matt Symons, 3 Halani Aulika, 2 David Paice, 1 Tom Court
Replacements: 16 Gerard Ellis, 17 Tom Smallbone, 18 Leo Halavatau, 19 Ian Nagle, 20 Tom Guest, 21 Scott Steele, 22 Johnny Williams, 23 Theo Brophy-Clews

Worcester: 15 Chris Pennell, 14 Bryce Heem 13 Wynand Olivier, 12 Ryan Mills, 11 Cooper Vuna, 10 Tom Heathcote 9 Luke Baldwin, 8 GJ van Velze (c), 7 Matt Cox, 6 Phil Dowson, 5 Tevita Cavubati, 4 Donncha O’Callaghan, 3 Nick Schonert, 2 Niall Annett, 1 Na’ama Leleimalefaga
Replacements: 16 Jaba Bregvadze, 17 Val Rapava Ruskin, 18 James Johnston, 19 Dan Sanderson, 20 Marco Mama, 21 Charlie Mulchrone, 22 Ryan Lamb, 23 Andy Symons

Date: Sunday, February 7
Venue: Madejski Stadium
Kick-off: 13:00 GMT
Referee: Wayne Barnes
Assistant Referees: Ian Tempest, Ashley Rowden
TMO: David Sainsbury


%d bloggers like this: