London Irish 25-23 Northampton: A penalty try in overtime delivered the Exiles some Christmas cheer as they overcame Saints for a first Premiership win of the season on Boxing day

  • London Irish recorded their first Premiership win of the season through a late penalty try against Northampton
  • First-half tries from Luke Narraway and Sean Maitland had given London Irish a 15-8 lead at the break
  • George North and Kahn Fotuali’i tries put Northampton ahead and gave Jim Mallinder’s side a five-point lead going into the last quarter
  • But the Exiles stole victory after referee Ian Tempest penalised Saints late on
London Irish recorded their first Premiership win of the season through a late penalty try against Northampton.

Irish came into this game with no points to their name, but started the game well with two first half tries from Luke Narroway and Sean Maitland.

Noakes also kicked five points for the home side. Jim Mallinder’s side scored a try of their own through Ken Pisi, with Stephen Myler kicking three points.

The second half was all Northampton,who have only lost one of their last six games. They scored two tries through George North and Kahn Fotuali’i, with Myler kicking five points.

But, Irish snatched victory with five points from Noakes and a dramatic penalty try secured a terrific win for Tom Coventry’s men.

London Irish: 15 Sean Maitland, 14 Alex Lewington, 13 Ciaran Hearn, 12 Johnny Williams,  11 Aseli Tikoirotuma, 10 Chris Noakes, 9 Brendan McKibbin, 8 Ofisa Treviranus, 7 Blair Cowan, 6 Luke Narraway, 5 Nic Rouse, 4 Matt Symons (c), 3 Ben Franks, 2 David Paice, 1 Tom Court
Replacements: 16 Jimmy Stevens, 17 Tom Smallbone, 18 Halani Aulika, 19 Joe Trayfoot, 20 Jebb Sinclair, 21 Scott Steele, 22 Shane Geraghty, 23 Fergus Mulchrone

Northampton: 15 Ben Foden, 14 Ken Pisi, 13 George Pisi, 12 Luther Burrell, 11 George North, 10 Stephen Myler, 9 Kahn Fotuali’i, 8 Teimana Harrison, 7 Jamie Gibson, 6 Courtney Lawes, 5 Christian Day, 4 Michael Paterson, 3 Paul Hill, 2 Dylan Hartley (c), 1 Ethan Waller
Replacements: 16 Mikey Haywood, 17 Alex Waller, 18 Gareth Denman, 19 Victor Matfield, 20 Sam Dickinson, 21 Lee Dickson, 22 JJ Harrahan, 23 Tom Collins

Date: Saturday, December 26
Venue: Madejski Stadium
Kick-off: 14:30 GMT
Referee: Ian Tempest
Assistant Referees: Ashley Rowden, Gareth Copsey
TMO: David Sainsbury

%d bloggers like this: