Luke Charteris to lead Wales against Chiefs - Ruck

Luke Charteris to lead Wales against Chiefs

  • Luke Charteris leads his country for the first time against Chiefs on Tuesday: 7:35am kick-off 
  • The second-rower, who is one of 15 changes, has represented his country 66 times
  • Warren Gatland believes Tuesday’s game will provide an excellent opportunity for the players to cement their spots
Wales lock Luke Charteris will have the opportunity to lead his country for the first time when they take on the Super Rugby side Chiefs at the FMG Stadium Waikato in Hamilton on Tuesday. 

Cardiff Blues flanker Ellis Jenkins also makes his first start as coach Warren Gatland gives his squad players a chance following Saturday’s 39-21 defeat by New Zealand.

Matthew Morgan is at full-back with Eli Walker and Tom James on the wings. Scarlets’ Aled Davies and Rhys Patchell are on the bench having been flown to New Zealand as injury cover.

Gatland commented: “Tuesday is a huge opportunity for these players, they have trained hard and are ready to get game time under their belts.”

“Coming all the way to New Zealand, it was important we had a big enough squad for the three Tests, but also to provide game time for the players on tour and this match gives the players a chance to stake their claim for the final two Tests against the All Blacks.

“The Chiefs are without a number of their All Blacks but still boast a strong side and from my playing days I know they will be right up for the fixture against a touring nation.”

The Super Rugby side, second in the New Zealand conference, are without eight internationals for the game. The two-time Super Rugby champions will be captained by New Zealand’s 2011 World Cup final winning fly-half Stephen Donald, who kicked what proved to be the winning penalty in the 8-7 win over France.

Wales team to play the Chiefs: Matthew Morgan, Eli Walker, Tyler Morgan, Scott Williams, Tom James, Rhys Priestland, Gareth Davies; Rob Evans, Scott Baldwin, Tomas Francis, Jake Ball, Luke Charteris, Josh Turnbull, Ellis Jenkins, James King.

Replacements: Kristian Dacey, Aaron Jarvis, Rhodri Jones, Bradley Davies, Ross Moriarty, Aled Davies, Gareth Anscombe, Rhys Patchell.