Match Report: England 37-21 Australia

Match Report: England 37-21 Australia – Jones’ men come from behind to win

  • England beat Australia at Twickenham to end 2016 unbeaten under Eddie Jones
  • The boot of Bernard Foley and a try from Sefa Naivalu helped the Aussies build an early lead
  • Owen Farrell’s kicking brought the hosts back into it before Jonathan Joseph’s try gave them the lead
  • Foley hit back with two penalties to give the Wallabies a 16-13 lead at the break
  • Tries from Marland Yarde and Ben Youngs saw England build a healthy lead
  • The Aussies hit back through Sekope Kepu but Joseph crossed for a second to secure the win
England came from behind to make it four Autumn wins from four against Australia at Twickenham and in the process end 2016 unbeaten.

The Red Rose were 16-13 behind at the break but rallied in the second half with tries from Marland Yarde and Ben Youngs giving them a healthy lead before Jonathan Joseph’s second secured the win in what was a brutal Test match in South-West London. 

The Wallabies made a frenzied start, with speedster Sefanaia Naivalu going over for a try and two more being ruled out.

Australia gifted Joseph a try before two Bernard Foley penalties gave the visitors a deserved 16-13 half-time lead.

But England were excellent after the break with Marland Yarde, Ben Youngs and Joseph touching down, while Sekope Kepu scored a lone try for Australia.

England last won 14 Tests in a row between 2002 and 2003, during the build-up to their World Cup triumph in Australia.


England: Jonathan Joseph


England: 15 Mike Brown, 14 Marland Yarde, 13 Jonathan Joseph, 12 Owen Farrell, 11 Jonny May, 10 George Ford, 9 Ben Youngs, 8 Nathan Hughes, 7 Tom Wood, 6 Chris Robshaw, 5 George Kruis, 4 Courtney Lawes, 3 Dan Cole, 2 Dylan Hartley (c), 1 Mako Vunipola
Replacements: 16 Jamie George, 17 Joe Marler, 18 Kyle Sinckler, 19 Charlie Ewels, 20 Teimana Harrison, 21 Danny Care, 22 Ben Te’o, 23 Henry Slade
Australia: 15 Israel Folau, 14 Dane Haylett-Petty, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Reece Hodge, 11 Sefa Naivalu, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Lopeti Timani, 7 Michael Hooper, 6 David Pocock, 5 Rob Simmons, 4 Kane Douglas, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Stephen Moore, 1 Scott Sio
Replacements: 16 Tolu Latu, 17 James Slipper, 18 Tom Robertson, 19 Dean Mumm, 20 Sean McMahon, 21 Nick Frisby, 22 Quade Cooper, 23 Henry Speight


Download IOS   Download Android

%d bloggers like this: