Match Report: Ireland 40-29 New Zealand

Match Report: Ireland 40-29 New Zealand – Irish make history

  • Ireland overcame the All Blacks 40-29 in Chicago for their first ever win against the reigning world champions
  • Tries from Jordi Murphy, CJ Stander and Conor Murray gave the Irish a 25-8 lead at the break
  • Simon Zebo and Robbie Henshaw put Ireland further ahead after the restart as they held on for the famous win
Ireland made history as they recorded their first ever win against the reigning world champions New Zealand after edging to a 40-29 victory against them at Soldier Field, Chicago.

Tries from Jordi Murphy, CJ Stander and Conor Murray helped the Irish to a 25-8 half-time lead, before fullback Simon Zebo scored his side’s fourth try in the corner.

The reigning world champions fought back to move to within four points but Robbie Henshaw’s late try ensured the victory.

“We know New Zealand are a great side and knew we would have to go out and attack them.” said Ireland captain Rory Best.

“We put in so much work over the last couple of weeks and this win has been a long time coming, but history has been made and we’re absolutely ecstatic.

“Thanks to the fans – the atmosphere here has been amazing, it’s been like a home match.”

The sides will meet in another Test match in Dublin in two weeks’ time.

More to follow.


Ireland: 15 Rob Kearney, 14 Andrew Trimble, 13 Jared Payne, 12 Robbie Henshaw, 11 Simon Zebo, 10 Johnny Sexton, 9 Conor Murray, 8 Jamie Heaslip, 7 Jordi Murphy, 6 CJ Stander, 5 Devin Toner, 4 Donnacha Ryan, 3 Tadhg Furlong, 2 Rory Best (c), 1 Jack McGrath
Replacements: 16 Sean Cronin, 17 Cian Healy, 18 Finlay Bealham, 19 Ultan Dillane, 20 Josh van der Flier, 21 Kieran Marmion, 22 Joey Carbery, 23 Garry Ringrose
New Zealand: 15 Ben Smith, 14 Waisake Naholo, 13 George Moala, 12 Ryan Crotty, 11 Julian Savea, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Kieran Read (c), 7 Sam Cane, 6 Liam Squire, 5 Jerome Kaino, 4 Patrick Tuipulotu, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Dane Coles, 1 Joe Moody
Replacements: 16 Codie Taylor, 17 Ofa Tu’ungafasi, 18 Charlie Faumuina, 19 Scott Barrett, 20 Ardie Savea, 21 TJ Perenara, 22 Aaron Cruden, 23 Malakai Fekitoa


Download IOS   Download Android

%d bloggers like this: