Match Report: Leicester Tigers 18-16 Munster

Match Report: Leicester Tigers 18-16 Munster – Williams late strike sinks Munster

  • Owen Williams slotted a 79th-minute penalty from within his own half to snatch an 18-16 win for Leicester over Munster
  • Two penalties apiece from Williams and Tyler Bleyendaal meant it was 6-6  at the break
  • Niall Scannell went over to put Munster ahead, but Williams held his nerve to earn Tigers the win
Owen Williams kicked a late, long-range penalty to secure victory for Leicester over Munster and atone for last week’s 38-0 defeat at Thomond Park.

The score was 6-6 at half-time, courtesy of two penalties apiece from Williams and Munster fly-half Tyler Bleyendaal.

When Simon Zebo was sent to the sin-bin with 15 minutes remaining, Williams kicked Leicester into a six-point lead.

Hooker Niall Scannell went over though with Bleyendaal’s resulting conversion giving the Irish province a narrow one-point lead, 15-16,

But with a minute left on the clock, Williams opted to go for goal from inside his own half, with his superb effort being met by a roar of the Welford Road crowd as it sailed through the posts.

Glasgow lead Pool One on 13 points after their victory over Racing, with Munster on 11 points and Leicester third on eight points.


Leicester Tigers: 15 George Worth, 14 Peter Betham, 13 Jack Roberts, 12 Manu Tuilagi, 11 Adam Thompstone 10 Owen Williams, 9 Ben Youngs, 8 Lachlan McCaffrey, 7 Brendon O’Connor, 6 Luke Hamilton, 5 Graham Kitchener, 4 Ed Slater, 3 Pat Cilliers, 2 Tom Youngs (c), 1 Ellis Genge
Replacements: 16 Harry Thacker, 17 Logovi’i Mulipola, 18 Greg Bateman, 19 Mike Fitzgerald, 20 Mike Williams, 21 Will Evans, 22 Sam Harrison, 23 Tom Brady
Munster: 15 Simon Zebo, 14 Darren Sweetnam, 13 Jaco Taute, 12 Rory Scannell, 11 Keith Earls, 10 Tyler Bleyendaal, 9 Conor Murray, 8 CJ Stander, 7 Tommy O’Donnell, 6 Peter O’Mahony (c), 5 Billy Holland, 4 Donnacha Ryan, 3 John Ryan, 2 Niall Scannell, 1 Dave Kilcoyne
Replacements: 16 Rhys Marshall, 17 James Cronin, 18 Stephen Archer, 19 Jean Kleyn, 20 Jack O’Donoghue, 21 Duncan Williams, 22 Ian Keatley, 23 Andrew Conway
Date: Saturday, December 17
Venue: Welford Road
Kick-off: 15:15 GMT
Referee: Pascal Gauzère (France)
Assistant Referees: Maxime Chalon (France), Jean-Luc Rebollal (France)
TMO: Eric Gauzins (France)
%d bloggers like this: