Match Report: Munster 38-17 Glasgow

Match Report: Munster 38-17 Glasgow – 14-man Munster pay Axel the ultimate tribute with sensational win

  • Munster did Anthony Foley proud as they recorded a 38-17 bonus-point victory against Glasgow in their Champions Cup opener
  • Scores from Tyler Bleyendaal, Jaco Taute and Simon Zebo gave the hosts a 24-3 lead at the break despite Keath Earls red card
  • A penalty try combined with a Rory Scannell score secured the bonus-point win for Munster after the restart
An unstoppable Munster romped to a deserved bonus-point victory against Glasgow Warriors in their Champions Cup opener at Thomond Park despite playing over an hour with 14 men.

A stunning tribute from the Munster choir and supporters to Anthony Foley, who died suddenly in Paris last Sunday, set up a passionate atmosphere heading into a very emotional occasion. The connection between Munster fans and their players has long been famous, but it hasn’t crackled like it did today for a long time. This was something special, something unforgettable.


In a breathless start, the hosts opened the scoring after just four minutes when fly-half Tyler Bleyendaal was slipped in by Keith Earls to force the ball down. The number 10 then converted to give the hosts an early 7-0 lead.

Finn Russell reduced the deficit from the tee but it didn’t take long for the hosts to respond with Jaco Taute scoring Munster’s second try in the corner. Bleyendaal then superbly added the tough touchline conversion, 14-3.

Nevertheless, the hosts then lost Keith Earls to a red card just a quarter into the game, the left wing sent off for a dangerous tackle on Glasgow hooker Fraser Brown.

Bleyendaal’s three-pointer and Simon Zebo’s touchdown though duly increased the hosts’ buffer as they went into the interval 24-3 in front.

Munster then started the second period in similar fashion, securing the bonus-point when referee Jerome Garces awarded a penalty try.

And although Pat MacArthur and Mark Bennett went over for the Warriors, the home side aptly had the final word as Rory Scannell powered across the whitewash.

Embed from Getty Images


Munster: 15 Simon Zebo, 14 Darren Sweetnam, 13 Jaco Taute, 12 Rory Scannell, 11 Keith Earls, 10 Tyler Bleyendaal, 9 Conor Murray, 24 CJ Stander, 7 Tommy O’Donnell, 6 Peter O’Mahony (c), 5 Billy Holland, 4 Donnacha Ryan, 3 John Ryan, 2 Niall Scannell, 1 Dave Kilcoyne
Replacements: 16 Duncan Casey, 17 Brian Scott, 18 Stephen Archer, 19 Robin Copeland, 20 Jack O’Donoghue, 21 Duncan Williams, 22 Ian Keatley, 23 Ronan O’Mahony
Glasgow Warriors: 15 Stuart Hogg, 14 Sean Lamont, 13 Alex Dunbar, 12 Sam Johnson, 11 Rory Hughes, 10 Finn Russell, 9 Henry Pyrgos (cc), 8 Josh Strauss, 7 Ryan Wilson, 6 Rob Harley, 5 Jonny Gray (cc), 4 Tim Swinson, 3 Zander Fagerson, 2 Fraser Brown, 1 Gordon Reid
Replacements: 16 Pat MacArthur, 17 Alex Allan, 18 Sila Puafisi, 19 Lewis Wynne, 20 Simone Favaro, 21 Ali Price, 22 Mark Bennett, 23 Peter Murchie


Download IOS   Download Android