Match Report: New Zealand 37-10 Australia

Match Report: New Zealand 37-10 Australia – All Blacks make history

  • New Zealand created rugby history with an 18th straight Test win after they defeated the Wallabies
  • The two-time reigning World Cup champions triumphed 37-10 at Eden Park, scoring six tries
  • Tries from Israel Dagg, Anton Lienert-Brown and TJ Perenara had earned the All Blacks a 15-7 halftime lead
  • After the break, Julian Savea crossed for a double before Dane Coles completed the scoring
World champions New Zealand successively broke the record for most consecutive wins after claiming a 37-10 win against Australia at Eden Park on Saturday.

The win means that they finally break 17 match winning streak that was only held by themselves and South Africa previously and extend it to 18 wins. The All Blacks were on the cusp of making the record last year before Australia beat them 27-19 in Sydney.

But the match was not without controversy after Television Match Official Shaun Veldsman intervened after Henry Speight had crossed for a try that would have leveled the score at 15-all.

After consulting with referee Nigel Owens, the duo agreed that Wallabies winger Dane Haylett-Petty had interfered with Julian Savea in the lead-up much to the disbelief of Wallabies coach Michael Cheika.

Tries from fullback Israel Dagg, centre Anton Lienert-Brown and centre TJ Perenara had earned the All Blacks a narrow 15-7 halftime lead. The Wallabies’ five-pointer came from lock Rory Arnold and was converted by Bernard Foley.

The Wallabies fly-half then reduced the lead to just five points after the break before the controversial Speight incident turned the match on its head.

The two-time reigning World Cup champions had the home fans on their feet inside the final half hour as powerhouse winger Julian Savea crossed for a double, before turning provider for hooker Dane Coles, who had enjoyed yet another excellent game.

New Zealand: 15 Ben Smith, 14 Israel Dagg, 13 Anton Lienert-Brown, 12 Ryan Crotty, 11 Julian Savea, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 TJ Perenara, 8 Kieran Read (c), 7 Matt Todd, 6 Jerome Kaino, 5 Samuel Whitelock, 4 Brodie Retallick, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Dane Coles, 1 Joe Moody
Replacements: 16 Codie Taylor, 17 Wyatt Crockett, 18 Charlie Faumuina, 19 Liam Squire, 20 Ardie Savea, 21 Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 22 Aaron Cruden, 23 Malakai Fekitoa
Australia: 15 Israel Folau, 14 Dane Haylett-Petty, 13 Samu Kerevi, 12 Reece Hodge, 11 Henry Speight, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Lopeti Timani, 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Dean Mumm, 5 Adam Coleman, 4 Rory Arnold, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Stephen Moore (c), 1 Scott Sio
Replacements: 16 James Hanson, 17 Tom Robertson, 18 Allan Ala’alatoa, 19 Rob Simmons, 20 David Pocock, 21 Nick Frisby, 22 Quade Cooper, 23 Sefa Naivalu


Download IOS   Download Android