Match Report: Saracens 21-6 Newcastle Falcons

Match Report: Saracens 21-6 Newcastle Falcons – Chris Ashton scores on his return

  • Saracens overcame a resilient Newcastle 13-6 at Allianz Park
  • Marcelo Bosch’s try combined with the boot of Owen Farrell gave Sarries a 13-6 lead at the break
  • Chris Ashton’s second-half try secured the win
Chris Ashton marked his return to action with a try as Saracens fought past Newcastle on Saturday, winning 21-6 at Allianz Park.

The Falcons went in front against the reigning European and Premiership champions thanks to the boot of Joel Hodgson but Owen Farrell levelled the scores soon after, 3-3.

Hodgson put the away side back in front from in front of the posts before Marcelo Bosch darted through a gaping hole to dot down, giving Saracens the lead for the first time. Farrell then converted to stretch the hosts lead to four points.

The England fly-half added another three points before the break to push Sarries into a 13-6 lead at halftime.

With 10 minutes left on the clock, a third penalty from Farrell took Saracens ten points clear and Newcastle out of losing bonus point range.

Sarries eventually sealed the win with their second try of the afternoon just four minutes from time. On his first game back from suspension, Ashton crossed the line after a neat move from Saracens backline to cap off a good all-round performance from his side.

The win takes Saracens onto 42 points for the season, top of the table only on points difference with Wasps right on their heels.


Saracens: 15 Sean Maitland, 14 Nathan Earle, 13 Marcelo Bosch, 12 Nick Tompkins, 11 Chris Wyles, 10 Owen Farrell (c), 9 Ben Spencer, 8 Jackson Wray, 7 Michael Rhodes, 6 Maro Itoje, 5 George Kruis, 4 Will Skelton, 3 Vincent Koch, 2 Jamie George, 1 Richard Barrington
Replacements: 16 Schalk Brits, 17 Titi Lamositele, 18 Juan Figallo, 19 Schalk Burger, 20 Joel Conlon, 21 Richard Wigglesworth, 22 Alex Lozowski, 23 Chris Ashton
Newcastle Falcons: 15 Alex Tait, 14 Marcus Watson, 13 Fred Burdon, 12 Juan Pablo Socino, 11 Vereniki Goneva, 10 Joel Hodgson, 9 Sonatane Takulua, 8 Ally Hogg, 7 Mark Wilson (c), 6 Callum Chick, 5 Evan Olmstead, 4 Calum Green, 3 Jon Welsh, 2 Scott Lawson, 1 Rob Vickers
Replacements: 16 Ben Sowrey, 17 Ben Harris, 18 Paddy Ryan, 19 Will Witty, 20 Opeti Fonua, 21 Sam Egerton, 22 Craig Willis, 23 Dominic Waldouck
%d bloggers like this: