Match Report: Wales 27-13 South Africa

Match Report: Wales 27-13 South Africa – Wales beat poor Springboks

  • Wales beat South Africa 27-13 at Principality Stadium in Cardiff
  • Ken Owen’s try from a lineout gave the Welsh a 14-point lead before Uzair Cassiem hit back
  • Justin Tipuric’s try clinched only a third-ever win over the Springboks
A late Justin Tipuric try sealed a comfortable victory for Wales over South Africa in Cardiff on Saturday. 

The defeat means South Africa have lost eight times in a calendar year for the first time in their history.

Full-back Leigh Halfpenny kicked 17 points, while hooker Ken Owens and flanker Justin Tipuric crossed for second-half tries, giving Wales a record 27-13 triumph against the Springboks.

Springboks fly-half Elton Jantjies booted a penalty double, while Pat Lambie converted flanker Uzair Cassiem’s late try on his Test debut – but South Africa were left reeling from an eighth Test defeat in 2016 under beleaguered head coach Allister Coetzee.

Wales’ victory was tainted by a first half injury to Dan Lydiate who was stretchered from the field.

It was a third test success in a row for Wales, who were criticised after their narrow victory over Japan last week, while South Africa ended a dismal year with eight losses in 12 matches.


Wales: 15 Leigh Halfpenny, 14 George North, 13 Jonathan Davies, 12 Scott Williams, 11 Liam Williams, 10 Dan Biggar, 9 Gareth Davies, 8 Ross Moriarty, 7 Justin Tipuric, 6 Dan Lydiate, 5 Alun Wyn Jones, 4 Luke Charteris, 3 Tomas Francis, 2 Ken Owens, 1 Gethin Jenkins
Replacements: 16 Scott Baldwin, 17 Nicky Smith, 18 Samson Lee, 19 Cory Hill, 20 Taulupe Faletau, 21 Lloyd Williams, 22 Sam Davies, 23 Jamie Roberts
South Africa: 15 Johan Goosen‚ 14 Ruan Combrinck‚ 13 Francois Venter‚ 12 Rohan Janse van Rensburg‚ 11 Jamba Ulengo‚ 10 Elton Jantjies‚ 9 Faf de Klerk‚ 8 Warren Whiteley‚ 7 Uzair Cassiem‚ 6 Nizaam Carr‚ 5 Lood de Jager‚ 4 Pieter-Steph du Toit‚ 3 Lourens Adriaanse‚ 2 Adriaan Strauss (c)‚ 1 Tendai Mtawarira
Replacements: 16 Malcolm Marx‚ 17 Steven Kitshoff‚ 18 Trevor Nyakane‚ 19 Franco Mostert‚ 20 Jean-Luc du Preez‚ 21 Piet van Zyl‚ 22 Pat Lambie‚ 23 Lionel Mapoe


Download IOS   Download Android

%d bloggers like this: