REPORT: New Zealand 46-6 Wales

New Zealand 46-6 Wales: All Blacks earn clean sweep against Wales

  • New Zealand stretched their winning run over Wales to 29 games in 63 years with a commanding performance in Dunedin
  • First-half tries by wing Ben Smith and centre George Moala were followed by Beauden Barrett going over
  • Fly-half Barrett added a second in a 26-point haul with hooker Dane Coles and Israel Dagg also touching down
New Zealand’s All Blacks earned a clean sweep of victories over Wales with a 46-6 victory in the third Test at the Forsyth Barr Stadium in Dunedin.

The hosts ran in six tries through Beauden Barrett (2), Ben Smith, George Moala, Dane Coles and Israel Dagg while all Wales’ points came via the boot of flyhalf Dan Biggar.

The visitors fought as hard as in the first and second Test defeats, but the All Blacks were smarter in defence and sharper in attack

Barrett was on the replacements bench for the first two tests but came into the starting line-up for the third Test after Aaron Cruden was injured last week.

The Test ticked several boxes for the All Blacks, who fielded three debut forwards in Elliot Dixon, Liam Squire and Ofa Tu’ungafasi, while several other fringe players had game time.

The All Black players return to Super Rugby next week while the Welsh return home for some much-needed rest after a long season that included the Rugby World Cup.

Beauden Barrett


New Zealand: 15 Israel Dagg, 14 Ben Smith, 13 George Moala, 12 Ryan Crotty, 11 Julian Savea, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Kieran Read (c), 7 Sam Cane, 6 Elliot Dixon, 5 Sam Whitelock, 4 Brodie Retallick, 3 Charlie Faumuina, 2 Dane Coles, 1 Joe Moody
Replacements: 16 Codie Taylor, 17 Wyatt Crockett, 18 Ofa Tu’ungafasi, 19 Luke Romano, 20 Liam Squire, 21 Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 22 Lima Sopoaga, 23 Waisake Naholo

Wales: 15 Rhys Patchell, 14 Liam Williams, 13 Jonathan Davies, 12 Jamie Roberts, 11 Hallam Amos, 10 Dan Biggar, 9 Rhys Webb, 8 Taulupe Faletau, 7 Sam Warburton (c), 6 Ross Moriarty, 5 Alun Wyn Jones, 4 Luke Charteris, 3 Tomas Francis, 2 Ken Owens, 1 Rob Evans
Replacements: 16 Scott Baldwin, 17 Aaron Jarvis, 18 Samson Lee, 19 Jake Ball, 20 Ellis Jenkins, 21 Gareth Davies, 22 Rhys Priestland, 23 Scott Williams

Date: Saturday, June 25
Venue: Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin
Kick-off: 19:35 local (07:35 GMT)
Referee: Jérôme Garcès (France)
Assistant Referees: Jaco Peyper (South Africa), Andrew Lees (Australia)
TMO: George Ayoub (Australia)