Newcastle 20-34 Wasps: Dai Youngs' men boost hope of a top-two finish with bonus-point win in the North East - Ruck

Newcastle 20-34 Wasps: Dai Youngs’ men boost hope of a top-two finish with bonus-point win in the North East

  • Wasps ran in five tries in a 34-20 win over a plucky Newcastle side
  • Tries from George Smith and Dan Robson put Wasps 15-3 up, but Taione Vea hit back on half-time
  • Robson’s second score and a try from Thomas Young moments later put the visitors in control after the break.
  • George McGuigan crossed to bring the Falcons to within seven points but Young’s second try secured the victory
Wasps boosted their hopes of a top-two Premiership finish with a bonus-point win over struggling Newcastle.

Unbeaten in their last five encounters with the Falcons going into the match, visiting Wasps maintained their impressive recent form in all competitions although it was by far an easy ride.

The Falcons scored one first half try through powerhouse Taione Vea, with Mike Delany kicking five points while Wasps scored two tries of their own through George Smith and Dan Robson, with Jimmy Gopperth kicking five points to lead 15-10 at the break.

In the second half, Wasps secure the try bonus point with three scores from Robson and two from Thomas Young. Newcastle scored a single second-half try through George McGuigan.

Wasps move one point behind second-placed Exeter, having denied Newcastle a losing bonus-point at the death.

Andy Goode came on with 10 minutes remaining for his final Falcons appearance before his retirement but the former England fly-half was unable to inspire a comeback.

Wasps: 15 Rob Miller, 14 Christian Wade, 13 Brendan Macken, 12 James Downey, 11 Josh Bassett, 10 Jimmy Gopperth (c), 9 Dan Robson, 8 Nathan Hughes, 7 Thomas Young, 6 Alex Rieder, 5 Kearnan Myall, 4 James Gaskell, 3 Jake Cooper-Woolley, 2 Edd Shervington, 1 Simon McIntyre.
Replacements: 16 Ashley Johnson, 17 Matt Mullan, 18 Phil Swainston, 19 James Cannon, 20 George Smith, 21 Jamie Stevenson, 22 Ruaridh Jackson, 23 Siale Piutau

Newcastle: 15 Simon Hammersley, 14 Alex Tait, 13 Adam Powell, 12 Juan Pablo Socino, 11 Giovanbattista Venditti, 10 Andy Goode, 9 Michael Young, 8 Ally Hogg, 7 Nili Latu, 6 Will Welch (c), 5 Sean Robinson, 4 Mark Wilson, 3 Taione Vea, 2 Scott Lawson, 1 Rob Vickers.
Replacements: 16 George McGuigan, 17 Alex Rogers, 18 Paddy Ryan, 19 Mouritz Botha, 20 Richard Mayhew, Sonatane Takulua, 22 Craig Willis, 23 Marcus Watson

Date: Saturday, February 6
Venue: Ricoh Arena
Kick-off: 14:00 GMT
Referee: Craig Maxwell-Keys
Assistant Referees: Gareth Copsey, Andy Watson
TMO: Keith Lewis