"Nice save" - Commentators apologise for Peter O'Mahony's f-bomb to referee - Ruck

“Nice save” – Commentators apologise for Peter O’Mahony’s f-bomb to referee

In a dramatic turn of events during Ireland’s impressive bonus-point victory over France in Paris, Peter O’Mahony let slip some colourful language at a highly inopportune moment.

RUCK’s 2024 Guinness Six Nations content powered by ISUZU.

The Irish kicked off their 2024 campaign with a resounding 38-17 triumph over a 14-man French side in Marseille last Friday.

The match saw Paul Willemse receiving a red card for the hosts, while Jamison Gibson-Park, Tadhg Beirne, Calvin Nash, Dan Sheehan, and Ronan Kelleher all contributed with tries.

Reflecting on the match, O’Mahony shared with ITV Sport, “It was a good start and a good performance.”

With France securing the Grand Slam in 2022 and Ireland replicating the feat the following year, the opening clash of the 2024 Six Nations was eagerly anticipated as a potential title or Grand Slam decider.

Adding an unexpected twist to the narrative, during the France vs Ireland showdown, the Irish captain inadvertently let slip an F-bomb in the direction of the referee at a crucial juncture in the game.


oin our Breaking News and Top Stories WhatsApp community for all the latest news direct to your phone.

“1/10” – Five players who flopped in the opening round: 2024 Six Nations

We take a look at five players who failed to perform in the opening round of the 2024 Six Nations.

#1. Paul Willemse (France)

Rugby Pass 1/10: “Got one point for running onto the pitch because after that it was a disaster for the lock forward. Lucky to get a yellow for his hit on Andrew Porter, he didn’t learn his lesson after 10 minutes contemplation and another hit to the head of an opponent, he left the referee with no option but to end his contest. Dumb.”

Planet Rugby 2/10: ““How do you want us to tackle?” were the words the second-rower asked before being issued his second yellow card and subsequent red. The answer is simple: lower Paul, lower.”

Telegraph 1/10: “The first hit was silly enough but to commit exactly the same offence six minutes after returning to the field, after a get-out-jail-free card, bordered on lunacy. France’s hopes of victory departed with him.”