Northampton 26-11 Sale: Teimana Harrison’s late try secures bonus point for the Saints

  • Northampton rose into the top four of the Premiership with a 26-11 bonus point victory
  • Bryn Evans went over in the corner after a Sale overlap before penalties from Danny Cipriani and Tom Arscott have the Sharks an 11-point lead
  • Northampton hit back late in the first half as Mikey Hayward crossed from close range
  • Two quick tries after the break from Ken Pisi and Tom Collins put the Saints ahead before Teimana Harrison secured the bonus-point
Northampton staged an excellent second-half fightback as they beat Sale and went up to fourth in the Premiership.

Two quick tries after the break from Ken Pisi and Tom Collins put the Saints ahead before Teimana Harrison

A try from Bryn Evans helped Sale to a 11-point lead on the half-hour mark.

However, a deliberate knock-on from the same man saw him sent to the sin-bin before Northampton’s Mike Haywood capitalised with a try at the end of the half to keep the sides locked closely together. S

Saints continued their comeback early on in the second half with Ken Pisi and Tom Collins scoring a try apiece to put the game to bed within the first ten minutes of the half.

The hosts were in control throughout the second half and Teimana Harrison added another try in the dying embers of the match for a bonus point.

Northampton: 15 Ben Foden, 14 Ken Pisi, 13 George Pisi, 12 Luther Burrell, 11 Tom Collins, 10 Stephen Myler, 9 Lee Dickson (c), 8 Teimana Harrison, 7 Tom Wood, 6 Jamie Gibson, 5 Christian Day, 4 James Craig, 3 Paul Hill, 2 Mikey Haywood, 1 Ethan Waller.
Replacements: 16 Reece Marshall, 17 Alex Waller, 18 Gareth Denman, 19 Victor Matfield, 20 Jon Fisher, 21 Kahn Fotuali’i, 22 JJ Hanrahan, 23 Harry Mallinder.

Sale: 15 Mike Haley, 14 Tom Arscott, 13 Sam James, 12 Sam Tuitupou, 11 Will Addison, 10 Danny Cipriani, 9 Peter Stringer, 8 TJ Ioane 7 David Seymour, 6 Cameron Neild, 5 Andrei Ostrikov, 4 Bryn Evans, 3 Vadim Cobilas, 2 Tommy Taylor, 1 Ross Harrison,
Replacements: 16 Neil Briggs, 17 Eifion Lewis Roberts, 18 Brian Mujati, 19 Jonathan Mills, 20 Magnus Lund, 21 Chris Cusiter, 22 Joe Ford, 23 Mark Jennings


Date: Saturday, March 12
Venue: Franklin’s Gardens
Kick-off: 14:00 GMT
Referee: JP Doyle
Assistant Referees: Robin Goodliffe, Roger Baileff
TMO: David Sainsbury


%d bloggers like this: