Northampton Saints' Courtney Lawes named Aviva Premiership Rugby Player of the Month for September - Ruck

Northampton Saints’ Courtney Lawes named Aviva Premiership Rugby Player of the Month for September

Northampton Saints forward Courtney Lawes has today been named Aviva Premiership Rugby Player of the Month for September 2017.

Lawes has been instrumental in Saints’ climb to the summit of Aviva Premiership Rugby and World Cup winner Will Greenwood believes he has been given “a new lease of life” moving to blindside flanker.

“Lawes has been unbelievable for Northampton Saints this season,” said Greenwood. “Northampton tend to win when he is playing right now! He’s still awesome in the lineout but now able to run around and smash things on a far more regular basis from the back row… loving his new-found freedom at six.”

Lawes was judged by a panel of experts as the player who made the biggest impact in the League over the month. He was involved in a three-way battle for the latest title, eventually beating Newcastle Falcons’ Juan Pablo Soncino and Lawes’ Northampton Saints team mate Tom Collins.

Greenwood added: “Courtney’s ball-carrying has improved exponentially. He has great footwork and softer hands. He might well be England’s most improved player, and is certainly critical to Northampton playing well.”

Lawes was voted for by a panel of media professionals based on his performances in November – Nick Mullins (BT Sport), Alastair Eykyn (BT Sport), Mick Cleary (The Daily Telegraph), Sarah Mockford (Rugby World), Jonny Fordham (The Sun), Jill Douglas (ITV Sport), Chris Jones (BBC 5 Live), David Rogers (Getty Images) and Tom Hamilton (ESPN). The panel was chaired by Paul Morgan, Premiership Rugby’s Communications Director.
Lawes wins a trophy and a £250 donation to the charity of his choice.

Winners in the 2017-18 season
September – Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints)
Winners in the 2016-17 season
April – Taulupe Faletau (Bath Rugby)
March – Christian Wade (Wasps)
February – James Short (Exeter Chiefs)
December – Tom Varndell (Bristol Rugby)
November – Freddie Burns (Leicester Tigers)
October – Mako Vunipola (Saracens)
September – Jimmy Gopperth (Wasps)
Winners in the 2015-16 season
October – Nick Evans (Harlequins)
November – Nathan Hughes (Wasps)
December – Maro Itoje (Saracens)
January – Thomas Waldrom (Exeter Chiefs)
February – George Smith (Wasps)
March – Francois Hougaard (Worcester Warriors)
April – Teimana Harrison (Northampton Saints)
Winners in the 2014-15 season
September – Kyle Eastmond (Bath Rugby)
October – Semesa Rokoduguni (Bath Rugby)
November – Thomas Waldrom (Exeter Chiefs)
December – Samu Manoa (Northampton Saints)
January – Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby)
February – Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs)
March – Elliot Daly (Wasps)
April – Joe Simpson (Wasps)
Winners in the 2013-14 season
September – Jacques Burger (Saracens)
October – Samu Manoa (Northampton Saints)
November – George Ford (Bath Rugby)
December – Nick Easter (Harlequins)
January – Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints)
February – Vereniki Goneva (Leicester Tigers)
March – Danny Cipriani (Sale Sharks)
April – Chris Ashton (Saracens)
%d bloggers like this: