Northampton 19-15 Glasgow: Harry Mallinder scores a dramatic late try for Saints against Warriors in their Champions Cup clash at Franklin’s Gardens.

  • Harry Mallinder scored a late try to give Northampton victory over Glasgow
  • Five penalties gave Glasgow a 15-12 lead heading into the closing stages
  • Glasgow were reduced to 14 men and punished by Mallinder’s late score
Harry Mallinder’s 78th-minute try handed Northampton Saints a crucial 19-15 Champions’ Cup win over Glasgow Warriors at Franklin’s Gardens.

Teimana Harrison broke the deadlock with the game’s first try on nine minutes, JJ Hanrahan converting for a 7-0 lead.

Finn Russell led Glasgow’s response, his two penalties making it 7-6 at half time, before Warriors went ahead through Russell’s third penalty.

But Christian Day turned the tide with Northampton’s second try of the night, before Russell kicked his fourth three-pointer ahead of Stuart Hogg’s penalty with ten minutes to play.

That made it 15-12 to the visitors, before Mallinder struck decisively late on, Myler with the goal, to help Saints move four points clear of Warriors in Pool 3.

More to follow…

Northampton: Harry Mallinder

In a game which lacked spark in the backs, Mallinder’s introduction turned the game. The 19-year-old, who is the son of head coach Jim, put in an energetic performance before scoring the match-winning try to keep Saints hopes of progression alive.

Northampton Saints: 15 Ben Foden, 14 Tom Collins, 13 George Pisi, 12 Luther Burrell, 11 George North, 10 JJ Hanrahan, 9 Lee Dickson (c), 8 Teimana Harrison, 7 Tom Wood, 6 Jamie Gibson, 5 Christian Day, 4 Courtney Lawes,, 2 Dylan Hartley, 1 Alex Waller
Replacements: 16 Mikey Haywood, 17 Ethan Waller, 18 Gareth Denman, 19 Michael Paterson, 20 Jon Fisher, 21 Tom Kessell, 22 Stephen Myler, 23 Harry Mallinder

Glasgow Warriors: 15 Stuart Hogg, 14 Lee Jones, 13 Alex Dunbar, 12 Sam Johnson, 11 Sean Lamont, 10 Finn Russell, 9 Ali Price, 8 Adam Ashe, 7 Chris Fusaro, 6 Ryan Wilson, 5 Jonny Gray (c), 4 Leone Nakarawa, 3 Sila Puafisi, 2 Pat MacArthur, 1 Gordon Reid
Replacements: 16 Shalva Mamukashvili, 17 Alex Allan, 18 Zander Fagerson, 19 Tim Swinson, 20 Simone Favaro, 21 Grayson Hart, 22 Duncan Weir, 23 Taqele Naiyaravoro

Date: Sunday, January 17
Venue: Franklin’s Gardens
Kick-off: 17:30 GMT
Referee: Romain Poite (France)
Assistant Referees: Cyril Lafon (France), Stéphane Boyer (France)
TMO: Philippe Bonhoure (France)


%d bloggers like this: