“Not appreciated” – Eddie Jones dream XV of players coached includes six English players - Ruck

“Not appreciated” – Eddie Jones dream XV of players coached includes six English players

Eddie Jones has managed some of the biggest nations in world rugby… and that also means he’s coached the game’s very best players.

The Aussie is a prominent figure in the world of rugby coaching, renowned for his tactical brilliance and leadership.

Born on January 30, 1960, in Australia, he has left an indelible mark on the sport. Jones gained recognition as the head coach of the England national rugby union team, guiding them to multiple Six Nations titles and a Rugby World Cup final in 2019.

His coaching journey began in the 1990s, honing his skills in Australia and later coaching teams in Japan and South Africa. With a keen strategic mind and a passion for the game, Eddie Jones remains a respected and influential figure in international rugby.

So what does a Jones’ ‘best XV’ look like?

Be there for the tackles, the tries, and the triumphs! Get your tickets now for Guinness Six Nations our trusted partner site, viagogo, and gear up for a rugby experience like no other

Eddie Jones facts:

  1. In 1994 Jones gave up his career as a teacher and school principal to coach his former club Randwick
  2. Jones previously coached Australia between 2001 and 2005, taking the team to the 2003 Rugby World Cup Final.
  3. He played a minimal role with South Africa when the Springboks won the 2007 Rugby World Cup and from 2012 to 2015 he coached Japan, leading them in the 2015 Rugby World Cup and their upset win over South Africa
  4. The hooker made three appearances for Leicester during the 1991/92 season in England
  5. In November 2015 Jones was appointed by Goldman Sachs Group Inc. to the bank’s advisory board in Japan

Using several interviews with various sources from down the years, we’ve formed Eddie Jones dream team of the players based on the players he bestowed with the most acclaim.

Eddie Jones Dream Team:


  • 15. Matt Burke (Australia)
  • 14. Bryan Habana (South Africa)
  • 11. Lote Tuqiri (Australia)


  • 13. Manu Tuilagi (England)
  • 12. Matt Giteau (Australa)