Premiership: Gloucester 55-19 Worcester

Premiership: Gloucester 55-19 Worcester – Cherry & Whites run riot

  • Gloucester eased to a 55-19 win against local rivals Worcester at Kingsholm on Saturday
  • Tries from Jonny May, Matt Scott and Jacob Rowan gave the hosts a commanding lead 21-7 lead at the break
  • Four further five-pointers secured the bonus-point victory for the Cherry & Whites in the second-half
Gloucester outscored local rivals Worcester seven tries to three as they eased to a comprehensive bonus-point victory at Kingsholm on Saturday.

The first points of the afternoon came from the boot of Gloucester’s Greig Laidlaw after four minutes before England winger Jonny May added to the hosts lead soon after when ran in the opening try.

And Laidlaw converted to give the Cherry and Whites an early 10-0 lead.

May then played creator as he sent Matt Scott over after the hosts gained possession from a turn-over. Again, Laidlaw slotted the extras, 17-0

Struggling Worcester responded to make it a 10-point game as Cooper Vuna wriggled away from a tackle to get over with Ryan Mills on target with the conversion.

But Gloucester reacted with their third try of the half. Jacob Rowan made the most of a slither of space, breaking a tackle on the way to crossing the line. Laidlaw then converted to put the Cherry and Whites 24-7 up at the break.

With nearly 15,000 packed into Kingsholm they were enjoying seeing their side take the game to Warriors.

And after the break, Scott got a second before John Afoa, Charlie Sharples and Josh Hohneck all went over as the hosts’ run of two straight league losses ended.

Consolations from Tevita Cavubati and Alafoti Fa’osiliva mattered little in Warriors’ ninth league loss this term.


Gloucester: 15 James Hook, 14 Charlie Sharples, 13 Matt Scott, 12 Billy Twelvetrees, 11 Jonny May, 10 Billy Burns, 9 Greig Laidlaw (c), 8 Ben Morgan, 7 Jacob Rowan, 6 Ross Moriarty, 5 Jeremy Thrush, 4 Tom Savage, 3 Salesi Ma’afu, 2 Richard Hibbard, 1 Josh Hohneck
Replacements: 16 Motu Matu’u, 17 Paddy McAllister, 18 John Afoa, 19 Joe Latta, 20 Lewis Ludlow, 21 Ben Vellacott, 22 Andy Symons, 23 Henry Purdy
Worcester: 15 Jamie Shillcock, 14 Dean Hammond, 13 Wynand Olivier, 12 Jackson Willison, 11 Cooper Vuna, 10 Ryan Mills, 9 Michael Dowsett, 8 Phil Dowson (c), 7 Sam Lewis, 6 Alafoti Faosiliva, 5 Darren Barry, 4 Donncha O’Callaghan, 3 Nick Schonert, 2 Jack Singleton, 1 Val Rapava Ruskin
Replacements: 16 Jaba Bregvadze, 17 Na’ama Leleimalefaga, 18 Biyi Alo, 19 Tevita Cavubati, 20 Will Spencer, 21 Marco Mama, 22 Luke Baldwin, 23 Ben Howard
%d bloggers like this: