Provincial Barbarians v British & Irish Lions preview: TV times, team news, odds and more - Ruck

Provincial Barbarians v British & Irish Lions preview: TV times, team news, odds and more

Saturday, June 3rd, Provincial Barbarians vs British & Irish Lions, Toll Stadium, Whangarei, 8:35pm kick-off (Live on Sky Sports 8am)
The British and Irish Lions launch their tour of New Zealand against the Provincial Barbarians – a match that is expected to be their least testing of the 10-game itinerary.
Provincial Barbarians v British & Irish Lions Team News

All three Scottish tourists – Greig Laidlaw, Tommy Seymour and Stuart Hogg – are selected and, despite never having started a Test match for England, rookie prop Kyle Sinckler is in the front row.

England’s powerhouse Ben Te’o, who was born in New Zealand, gets the nod at inside-centre, with Ireland’s Johnny Sexton looking to impress at fly-half.

But many eyes will be on Sexton’s opposite man. The Provincial Barbarians’ number 10 is Bryn Gatland, a 22-year-old who has represented the Auckland Blues and is the son of the Lions boss.

And a repeat of the 114-10 win over Western Australia in 2001 four years ago seems unlikely and followers of New Zealand rugby and Sevens will recognise the name of Sam Vaka, who along with former Chiefs midfielder Dwayne Sweeney and Waikato’s try-scoring sensation Sevu Reece all make up a competent back-line.

Lachlan Boshier, part of the Chiefs squad, and of course Blues fly-half Bryn Gatland, son of Lions head coach Warren, will need to be paid close attention also.

Provincial Barbarians v British & Irish Lions Odds
Provincial Barbarians 20/1, Draw 33/1, Lions 1/50
80-minute handicap
Provincial Barbarians (+36) Evens, Draw (+36) 13/1, Lions (-36) Evens

How can you watch?

Watch it live on Sky Sports 1 or via NowTV. For full international broadcast details, click here.

TalkSport radio will be covering all tour games, and the three Tests, live also.

Provincial Barbarians v British & Irish Lions Line-Ups
Provincial Barbarians: 15 Luteru Laulala (Counties Manukau), 14 Sam Vaka (Counties Manukau), 13 Inga Finau (Canterbury), 12 Dwayne Sweeney (Waikato), 11 Sevu Reece (Waikato), 10 Bryn Gatland (North Harbour), 9 Jack Stratton (Canterbury), 8 Mitchell Dunshea (Canterbury), 7 Lachlan Boshier (Taranaki), 6 James Tucker (Waikato), 5 Keepa Mewett (Bay of Plenty), 4 Josh Goodhue (Northland), 3 Oliver Jager (Canterbury), 2 Sam Anderson-Heather (c) (Otago), 1 Aidan Ross (Bay of Plenty)
Replacements: 16 Andrew Makalio (Tasman), 17 Tolu Fahamokioa (Wellington), 18 Marcel Renata (Auckland), 19 Matt Matich (Northland), 20 Peter Rowe (Wanganui), 21 Richard Judd (Bay of Plenty), 22 Jonah Lowe (Hawke’s Bay), 23 Junior Ngaluafe (Southland)
British and Irish Lions: 15 Stuart Hogg, 14 Anthony Watson, 13 Jonathan Joseph, 12 Ben Te’o, 11 Tommy Seymour, 10 Johnny Sexton, 9 Greig Laidlaw, 8 Taulupe Faletau, 7 Sam Warburton (c), 6 Ross Moriarty, 5 Iain Henderson, 4 Alun Wyn Jones, 3 Kyle Sinckler, 2 Rory Best, 1 Joe Marler
Replacements: 16 Jamie George, 17 Mako Vunipola, 18 Tadgh Furlong, 19 George Kruis, 20 Justin Tipuric, 21 Rhys Webb, 22 Owen Farrell, 23 Elliot Daly
Date: Saturday, June 3
Venue: Toll Stadium, Whangarei
Kick-off: 19:35 local (07:35 GMT)
Referee: Angus Gardner (Australia)
Assistant Referees: Mike Fraser (New