Kieran Read fumes over non-call in World Cup clash with South Africa

All Blacks captain Kieran Read spoke his mind following a a ‘gutless’ decision by referee Jerome Garces.

Richie Mo’unga was brought five metres short of the line by South Africa Makazole Mapimpi who infringed play by not releasing the All Black.

Garces and TMO Graham Hughes ruled an infringing play in the ruck following the initial tackle on Mo’unga but didn’t label it a professional foul.

After analysing the replay of the incident, the French official decided to award just a penalty to the All Blacks.

“It’s a clear penalty against 11,” Garces said.

According to Spark Sport commentator Scotty Stevenson, Read was fuming with the call.

“Kieran Read’s words if you did not hear them were ‘that’s pretty gutless’,” Stevenson said.

EDITORS PICKS:

%d bloggers like this: