Team News: Harlequins team to face Benetton - Ruck

Team News: Harlequins team to face Benetton

Semi Kunatani starts for Harlequins against Benetton in the Challenge Cup at The Stoop on Saturday (kick-off: 14:00). The Fijian returns to the starting XV at Openside as both Jack Clifford and Alex Dombrandt are rotated for this fixture.

Mat Luamanu, who started in the second row in the reverse fixture against Benetton in Treviso last week, moves to Blindside while captain James Chisholm remains at number 8. Other changes in the pack include Lewis Boyce starting at Loosehead in place of the rested Joe Marler alongside Will Collier who takes his place at Tighthead with the returning Kyle Sinckler coming into the match 23 as a Game Changer.

There are only two changes in the backs with Mike Brown and Nathan Earle both being rotated allowing Aaron Morris to start at Full-back and the in-form Cadan Murley getting another opportunity to impress as he returns to the starting XV on the right wing.

Harlequins v Benetton Rugby, Saturday 15th December (kick-off 14:00). Tickets available online

Harlequins Head of Rugby Paul Gustard said: “We were disappointed with the result last weekend against Benetton but I have been delighted with the reaction in training this week and feel very confident that we have selected a side that can beat a well organised and talented opposition – but also to do it with the style and attacking flair that Harlequins teams are famous for.

“As we have in the Premiership, we have picked up important bonus points in this competition and we know that we still have qualification in our own hands so that, allied to our constant desire to improve and be consistent, is all the incentive we need to take into the match.”

Harlequins XV to play Benetton (kick-off: 14:00)

15. Aaron Morris (26)
14. Cadan Murley (7)
13. Joe Marchant (68)
12. Francis Saili (13)
11. Gabriel Ibitoye (10)
10. James Lang (33)
9. Charlie Mulchrone (28)

1. Lewis Boyce (26)
2. Dave Ward (154)
3. Will Collier (138)
4. Ben Glynn (29)
5. George Merrick (89)
6. Mat Luamanu (70)
7. Semi Kunatani (4)
8. James Chisholm (Captain, 67)

Game Changers

16. Elia Elia (25)
17. Nick Auterac (3)
18. Kyle Sinckler (128)
19. Renaldo Bothma (14)
20. Luke Wallace (166)
21. Niall Saunders (4)
22. Marcus Smith (41)
23. Alofa Alofa (59)

Not considered for selection

Mike Brown
Rob Buchanan
Danny Care
Demetri Catrakilis
Henry Cheeseman
Jack Clifford
Alex Dombrandt
Nathan Earle
James Horwill
Dino Lamb
Mark Lambert
Dave Lewis
Paul Lasike
Joe Marler
Chris Robshaw
Matt Symons
Ben Tapuai
Tim Visser

%d bloggers like this: