Rugby World Cup’s top overall point scorers - Ruck

Rugby World Cup’s top overall point scorers

Rugby World Cup’s three top overall point scorers

The Rugby World Cup will be heading back to England this autumn and will aim to be the biggest, most exciting yet in the competition’s history.

So with the time quickly counting down to when the tournament kicks off we at have decided to count down the top three all-time point scorers from the World Cup Final’s.

3. Michael Lynagh, Australia: 195

Michael Lynagh, the vice-captain of the Wallabies side that won the World Cup in 1991, is number three on our list as he notched up a striking total of 195 points at World Cup finals. The Aussie proudly represented his country between the years of 1984 and 1995, with his preferred position being fly-half, although he was adaptable enough to switch to inside-centre if needed.

Nevertheless, Lynagh’s greatest moment in the World Cup arguably wasn’t the final in 1991 but earlier in the competition against Ireland in the quarter-final. With the clock ticking down flanker, Gordon Hamilton touched down to put the Irish in the lead while at the same time Aussie Skipper, Nick Farr-Jones hobbled off with an injury. But, with hopes of World Cup glory looking up in smoke for the Wallabies, Lynagh took the Captain’s armband and inspired his team to a magnificent comeback, and the rest is history as they went on to lift the Webb Ellis Cup.

2. Gavin Hastings, Scotland 227

Prolific point scorer Gavin Hastings had a fantastic career: he is the record points scorer for the Lions in tests, second leading points scorer for Scotland and obviously last but not least second leading points scorer in Rugby World Cups.

At the 1987 World Cup, his kicking in the group stage ensured Scotland’s safe passage to the quarter-finals but were soundly beaten by New Zealand. Four years later despite having anon the whole successful 1991 World Cup, Hastings’ surprising penalty miss from a moderately straightforward kick in the semi-final handed England a narrow 9-6 victory.

Four years later Hastings had another successful World Cup, scoring five tries and many conversions, but he was unable to prevent another quarter-final exit to the All Blacks. However, through his prolific point scoring he had ensured that his name would be in the record books.

1. Jonny Wilkinson, England 277

Number one of our star-studded top three is no other than all-time sporting great and England legend Jonny Wilkinson, who seized the record for most World Cup final’s points during England’s 2007 quarter-final victory over Australia.

He will forever be remembered as the man who struck England to Rugby World Cup glory in Australia in 2003 as he slotted a last-gasp drop goal in extra-time to overcome the hosts in an exhilarating tournament climax.

Following that his career was somewhat blighted by injury, but he still managed to fight back to be a part of England’s 2007 squad. England again reached the final only to be beaten by the Springboks, nevertheless Wilkinson as a result became the only player to score points in two consecutive Rugby World Cup finals.

The 2003 IRB Player of the Year and BBC Sports Personality of the Year, however, had one more World Cup in him in 2011, but England this time exited early following defeat to France in the quarter-final. He then retired from international rugby to continue his career in France with Toulon.

%d bloggers like this: