Sir Clive Woodward makes bold prediction for Calcutta Cup clash - Ruck

Sir Clive Woodward makes bold prediction for Calcutta Cup clash

World Cup-winning coach Sir Clive Woodward believes England will narrowly see off a fired-up Scotland team on Saturday.

Following the 24-17 defeat in Paris, the 64-year-old believes the match should galvanise England as the consequences of a loss are so huge.

“Let’s hope his (Eddie Jones) coaching and game plan have improved, along with his selection. I believe they will get the job done, narrowly, against a fired-up Scotland,” wrote Woodward in his column for the Mail Online.

“The consequences of a third defeat on the bounce are so big that you will see much more energy, intensity and accuracy, even if England have still clearly not got over the disappointment of their World Cup final defeat.

“This is the match that could — and should — galvanise England.

“England have signalled their intentions for a ‘must-win’ game by naming a 6-2 split on the bench with heavyweights Joe Launchbury and Courtney Lawes poised to add even more power to proceedings if needed.”



Scotland: 15 Stuart Hogg (c), 14 Sean Maitland, 13 Huw Jones, 12 Sam Johnson, 11 Blair Kinghorn, 10 Adam Hastings, 9 Ali Price, 8 Magnus Bradbury, 7 Hamish Watson, 6 Jamie Ritchie, 5 Jonny Gray, 4 Scott Cummings, 3 Zander Fagerson, 2 Fraser Brown, 1 Rory Sutherland
Replacements: 16 Stuart McInally, 17 Allan Dell, 18 Simon Berghan, 19 Ben Toolis, 20 Nick Haining, 21 George Horne, 22 Rory Hutchinson, 23 Chris Harris

England: 15 George Furbank, 14 Jonny May, 13 Jonathan Joseph, 12 Owen Farrell (c), 11 Elliot Daly, 10 George Ford, 9 Willi Heinz, 8 Tom Curry, 7 Sam Underhill, 6 Lewis Ludlam, 5 George Kruis, 4 Maro Itoje, 3 Kyle Sinckler, 2 Jamie George, 1 Mako Vunipola
Replacements: 16 Tom Dunn, 17 Ellis Genge, 18 Will Stuart, 19 Joe Launchbury, 20 Courtney Lawes, 21 Ben Earl, 22 Ben Youngs, 23 Ollie Devoto

Date: Saturday, February 8
Venue: Murrayfield
Kick-off: 16:45 GMT
Referee: Pascal Gaüzère (France)
Assistant referees: Mathieu Raynal (France), Federico Anselmi (Argentina)
TMO: James Leckie (Australia)