Six Nations 2017: Wales 16-21 England

Six Nations 2017: Wales 16-21 England – Elliot Daly scores dramatic late try to hand Eddie Jones’ side narrow victory

  • England maintain their unbeaten run by the skin of their teeth
  • Liam Williams try combined with Leigh Halfpenny’s boot put the hosts 13-8 ahead at the break
  • Elliot Daly crossed with five minutes remaining to put visitors back in front  
England extended their winning streak to 16 matches when a late Elliot Daly try secured them a 21-16 win over Wales in Cardiff on Saturday.

Fullback Leigh Halfpenny gave the Welsh a slender lead after two minutes before Owen Farrell levelled the scores with a kick of his own.

England then opened the try-scoring through scrum-half Ben Youngs but Farrell couldn’t add the conversion, 3-8.

Halfpenny reduced the deficit with another three-pointer before converting Liam Williams try to give Wales a 13-8 lead at the break.

Farrell and Halfpenny traded kicks after the restart as the game remained too hard to call, 16-11.

The England centre then narrowed the deficit with another kick before Elliot Daly’s converted score gave the visitors the lead, 16-21.

It was a poor clearing kick from Jonathan Davies that gifted England that final chance, and Wales will be left ruing that lapse, just as the visiting supporters celebrated it with glee.


England: Joe Launchbury


Wales: 15 Leigh Halfpenny, 14 George North, 13 Jonathan Davies, 12 Scott Williams, 11 Liam Williams, 10 Dan Biggar, 9 Rhys Webb, 8 Ross Moriarty, 7 Justin Tipuric, 6 Sam Warburton, 5 Alun Wyn Jones (c), 4 Jake Ball, 3 Tomas Francis, 2 Ken Owens, 1 Rob Evans
Replacements: 16 Scott Baldwin, 17 Nicky Smith, 18 Samson Lee, 19 Cory Hill, 20 Taulupe Faletau, 21 Gareth Davies, 22 Sam Davies, 23 Jamie Roberts
England: 15 Mike Brown, 14 Jack Nowell, 13 Jonathan Joseph, 12 Owen Farrell, 11 Elliot Daly, 10 George Ford, 9 Ben Youngs, 8 Nathan Hughes, 7 Jack Clifford, 6 Maro Itoje, 5 Courtney Lawes, 4 Joe Launchbury, 3 Dan Cole, 2 Dylan Hartley (c), 1 Joe Marler
Replacements: 16 Jamie George, 17 Matt Mullan, 18 Kyle Sinckler, 19 Tom Wood, 20 James Haskell, 21 Danny Care, 22 Ben Te’o, 23 Jonny May
%d bloggers like this: